Greenpeace blocks Rotterdam Shell refinery to highlight ad ban

Subscribe to The Global Herald in Google News

Al Jazeera English published this video item, entitled “Greenpeace blocks Rotterdam Shell refinery to highlight ad ban” – below is their description.

Greenpeace activists have blockaded Europe’s largest oil refinery in Rotterdam in order to draw attention to a campaign to ban fossil fuel advertising.

Police ended the roadblock several hours later.

But the protesters say their point about banning advertising they say is mere “greenwashing” by carbon-emitting companies has been made.

More than 20 environmental groups have joined the Ban Fossil Fuel Ads campaign in the European Union.

Al Jazeera’s Nadim Baba reports from Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

– Follow us on Twitter:

– Find us on Facebook:

– Check our website:

#Greenpeace #Shell #Green #ClimateChange #Pollution

Al Jazeera English YouTube Channel

Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

Subscribe to The Global Herald in Google News

About This Source - Al Jazeera English

The video item below is a piece of English language content from Al Jazeera. Al Jazeera is a Qatari state-funded broadcaster based in Doha, Qatar, owned by the Al Jazeera Media Network.

Recent from Al Jazeera English:

  • US supports Ecuador crackdown on drug trafficking
  • Exclusive: Taliban refurbishing equipment to build their own air force |. AL Jazeera Newsfeed
  • Turkey battles inflation crisis after currency value plummets
  • In This Story: Netherlands

    The Netherlands, informally Holland, is a country primarily located in Western Europe and partly in the Caribbean, forming the largest constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In Europe, it consists of 12 provinces that border Germany to the east, Belgium to the south, and the North Sea to the northwest, with maritime borders in the North Sea with those countries and the United Kingdom. In the Caribbean, it consists of three special municipalities: the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. The country’s official language is Dutch, with West Frisian as a secondary official language in the province of Friesland, and English and Papiamentu as secondary official languages in the Caribbean Netherlands. Dutch Low Saxon and Limburgish are recognised regional languages (spoken in the east and southeast respectively), while Sinte Romani and Yiddish are recognised non-territorial languages.

    2 Recent Items: Netherlands

  • Music show: Dutch artist Luwten opens up to the world on second LP ‘Draft’ • FRANCE 24 English
  • 20 points for Kevin Jochems and the Netherlands | NEWS | Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™ Oslo 2021
  • Leave a Comment

    We don't require your email address now, just your name. BUT, if you do add it, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.