Australian MH17 family travels to Europe for court case, defendants expected to stay away | ABC News

Almost six years after waking up to the news that their loved ones died in the Malaysian Airlines disaster, Bryan and Lisa Clancy are attending the trial of four men charged with bringing down the plane.

At a highly secured court near Schiphol airport where MH17 took off, four men will be tried for the murder of Michael and Carol Clancy and 296 other victims on the ill-fated flight.

But as the three judges preside over the trial, there will be an empty dock.

The four accused — three Russians and one Ukrainian — will be tried in absentia.

They are Russians Igor “Strelkov” Girkin, Oleg Pulatov and Sergic Dubinsky, as well as Ukranian Leonid Kharchenko.

Only one of the men will have legal representation in the court, although the Dutch are yet to confirm who.

The Clancys say they are disappointed the Australian Government hasn’t followed the Dutch lead and joined a lawsuit against Russia in the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR).

Almost 400 individuals, including 17 Australian families, are part of those parallel proceedings.

“We have a Government that is not fully supporting the Dutch,” Mr Clancy said.

“Our Government hasn’t involved itself in supporting the European court case, it’s just in the criminal court they are supporting the Dutch.”

The criminal proceedings could take years to complete, with the prosecution warning it could take between two and six years if there are unforeseen challenges.

Read more here:

For more from ABC News, click here:
You can watch more ABC News content on iview:

Subscribe to us on YouTube:
Go deeper on our ABC News In-depth channel:
You can also like us on Facebook:
Or follow us on Instagram:
Or even on Twitter:

In This Story: Netherlands

The Netherlands, informally Holland, is a country primarily located in Western Europe and partly in the Caribbean, forming the largest constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In Europe, it consists of 12 provinces that border Germany to the east, Belgium to the south, and the North Sea to the northwest, with maritime borders in the North Sea with those countries and the United Kingdom. In the Caribbean, it consists of three special municipalities: the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. The country’s official language is Dutch, with West Frisian as a secondary official language in the province of Friesland, and English and Papiamentu as secondary official languages in the Caribbean Netherlands. Dutch Low Saxon and Limburgish are recognised regional languages (spoken in the east and southeast respectively), while Sinte Romani and Yiddish are recognised non-territorial languages.

2 Recent Items: Netherlands

  • Canadian mystery solved by recovery of WWII bomber in the Netherlands
  • Global National: May 7, 2021 | Trudeau’s top aide grilled on what she knew of Gen. Vance allegations
  • Leave a Comment