2021 Year for the Elimination of Child Labour – Kick-off event

About This Source - United Nations

The United Nations (UN) was established after World War II with the aim of preventing future wars. The organization is financed by assessed and voluntary contributions from its member states.

The UN’s chief administrative officer is the Secretary-General, currently Portuguese politician and diplomat António Guterres, who began his five year-term on 1 January 2017.


Recent from United Nations:

  • UK on COVID vaccination ceasefire & Myanmar- Media Stakeout (26 February 2021)
  • Nigeria, Climate, Myanmar & other topics – Daily Briefing (26 February 2021)
  • Myanmar: Briefing by Special Envoy of UN Secretary-General
  • United Nations published this video item, entitled “2021 Year for the Elimination of Child Labour – Kick-off event” – below is their description.

    Kick-off event of 2021 International Year for the Elimination of Child Labour.

    In a series of interviews, videos and presentations, partners at the forefront of the fight against child labour will share their expectations and plans for 2021. Stakeholders will explain the challenges they face and provide ideas on how everyone can contribute throughout the year.

    We are delighted to welcome the following special guests:

    • ILO Director-General Guy Ryder,

    • UNICEF Executive Director Henrietta Fore,

    • Nobel Peace Laureate Kailash Satyarthi

    • Child labour survivor and activist, Amar Lal

    Chair of Alliance 8.7, Ms Anousheh Karvar will also present the 3 pillars of the 2021 Action Pledges: Act. Inspire. Scale Up with live pledges from: European Commission, Argentina, South Africa, Global March, FAO, IOM, UN Global Compact, IOE, ITUC, USDOL and Alliance 8.7 Pathfinder Countries Nigeria, Tunisia and Chile.

    Learn more about the International Year for the Elimination of Child Labour: http://bit.ly/2Y4NuUd

    United Nations YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Argentina

    Argentina, officially the Argentine Republic, is a country located mostly in the southern half of South America. Sharing the bulk of the Southern Cone with Chile to the west, the country is also bordered by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil to the northeast, Uruguay and the South Atlantic Ocean to the east, and the Drake Passage to the south.

    With a mainland area of 2,780,400 km2 (1,073,500 sq mi), Argentina is the eighth-largest country in the world, the fourth largest in the Americas, the second largest in South America after Brazil, and the largest Spanish-speaking nation by area.

    Argentina claims sovereignty over part of Antarctica, the Falkland Islands, and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands.

    2 Recent Items: Argentina

  • China’s Sinopharm COVID-19 vaccine shots arrive in Argentina
  • ‘Bloomberg Commodities Edge’: Ramifications of U.S. Energy Crisis
  • In This Story: Chile

    Chile, officially the Republic of Chile, is a country in western South America. It occupies a long, narrow strip of land between the Andes to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west. Chile covers an area of 756,096 square kilometres (291,930 sq mi) and has a population of 17.5 million as of 2017. The capital and largest city is Santiago and the national language is Spanish.

    Chile borders Peru to the north, Bolivia to the northeast, Argentina to the east, and the Drake Passage in the far south. Chilean territory includes the Pacific islands of Juan Fernández, Isla Salas y Gómez, Desventuradas, and Easter Island in Oceania. Chile also claims about 1,250,000 square kilometres (480,000 sq mi) of Antarctica under the Chilean Antarctic Territory.

    2 Recent Items: Chile

  • Why Norway’s plan for deep-sea mining could wreck the environment | Counting the Cost
  • Uruguay and Chile receive Chinese COVID 19 vaccine shipment
  • In This Story: Nigeria

    Nigeria, an African country on the Gulf of Guinea, has many natural landmarks and wildlife reserves. Protected areas such as Cross River National Park and Yankari National Park have waterfalls, dense rainforest, savanna and rare primate habitats. One of the most recognizable sites is Zuma Rock, a 725m-tall monolith outside the capital of Abuja that’s pictured on the national currency.

    2 Recent Items: Nigeria

  • Hundreds of schoolgirls abducted in Nigeria
  • Gunmen kidnap 317 schoolgirls in Nigeria
  • In This Story: South Africa

    South Africa is a country on the southernmost tip of the African continent, marked by several distinct ecosystems. Inland safari destination Kruger National Park is populated by big game. The Western Cape offers beaches, lush winelands around Stellenbosch and Paarl, craggy cliffs at the Cape of Good Hope, forest and lagoons along the Garden Route, and the city of Cape Town, beneath flat-topped Table Mountain.

    2 Recent Items: South Africa

  • Johnson & Johnson’s One-Shot Covid Vaccine Receives FDA Advisers’ Backing
  • COVID-19: The children orphaned in South Africa
  • In This Story: Tunisia

    Tunisia, officially the Republic of Tunisia, is a country in the Maghreb region of North Africa, covering 163,610 square kilometres. Its northernmost point, Cape Angela, is also the northernmost point on the African continent.

    2 Recent Items: Tunisia

  • Looking back at the Arab Spring: The role of art and music
  • “It’s a trip.” NASA Mars 2020’s Mohamed Abid on next steps after the thrill of Perseverance landing
  • Leave a Comment