Home » News » UK: David Cameron is Prime Minister, Nick Clegg is Deputy PM

UK: David Cameron is Prime Minister, Nick Clegg is Deputy PM

On Tuesday 11th May 2010, the Conservative party of Britain announced a new government for the United Kingdom in coalition with the Liberal Democrats. David Cameron will be the new Prime Minister and will live at Number 10 Downing Street with his family.

The party leader of the Liberal Democrats, Nick Clegg, was given the Deputy PM job.

The Queen has approved the following cabinet appointments:

Prime Minister

David Cameron

Deputy Prime Minister

Nick Clegg

Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

The Rt Hon William Hague MP

Chancellor of the Exchequer

George Osborne MP

Secretary of State for Defence

Dr Liam Fox MP

Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke

Chief Whip

The Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin MP

Secretary of State for the Home Department and Minister for Women and Equality

Theresa May MP

Four other cabinet posts will be filled by Liberal Democrats.

About Politics Desk

Politics Desk
Editors and staffers from the Politics Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Six months in, supporters stand behind Trump

As President Donald Trump finished his first six months, CNN’s Gary Tuchman traveled to Florida …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *