Home » Politics » Elections » Tanzania: President Kikwete Re-elected, Dr Slaa is Second

Tanzania: President Kikwete Re-elected, Dr Slaa is Second

The incumbent President of Tanzania, Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, has been re-elected to be President of Tanzania for a final term.

  • The CCM leader, Mr Kikwete, got 5,276,827 votes or 61.17% of the 8.6 million ballots cast.
  • Dr Willibrod Peter Slaa, the Chadema leader, came second with 2.2 million votes or 26.34% of the vote.
  • The CUF’s candidate, Professor Ibrahim Haruna Lipumba, got 695,667 votes or 8.06% of the vote.
  • Peter Kuga Mziray, of the African Progressive Party of Tanzania (APPT-Maendeleo), got 96,933 votes (1.12 per cent).
  • Hashim Rungwe, of the National Convention for Construction and Reform (NCCR-Mageuzi), got 26,388 votes or 0.31% of the vote.
  • Tanzania Labour Party’s Muttamwega Bhatt Mgayhwa received 17,482 votes or 0.20% of the total.
  • Mr Fahmi Nassoro Dovutwa, of United People’s Democratic Party (UPDP), who had pulled out of the race at the last minute, received 13,176 votes or 0.15 per cent of the vote.

About Politics Desk

Politics Desk
Editors and staffers from the Politics Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

‘Trump Administration Starts with Big Lie Over Small Thing’

Subscribe to France 24 now : http://f24.my/youtubeEN FRANCE 24 live news stream: all the latest …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *