Following his introduction into the Barclays Premier League clash between Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur on Sunday 22nd January 2012, which finished 3-2 to City, Mario Balotelli was then involved in a controversial incident with Spurs’ Scott Parker.
As the Tottenham central midfielder, Parker, slid to make a block from Balotelli, the Italian came down from his shooting action and his studs made contact with Parker’s head in what could have been a stamping action.
This was not seen by match referee, Howard Webb, though Parker received treatment for his injury after replays showed clear contact between Balotelli’s boot and the player’s head.
Contact is definite, intent, less so.
The incident is controversial because, had Balotelli been adjudged to have deliberately stamped on Parker, he would have been sent off, and therefore unable to win, and score, the vital penalty which gave Manchester City the three points from this fixture.
But what do you think? Did Mario Balotelli deliberately stamp on Scott Parker, or was it simply an accidental coming together?
Did Balotelli Deliberately Stamp on Scott Parker?
- Yes, it was deliberate (72%, 224 Votes)
- No, it was an accident (19%, 59 Votes)
- Impossible to tell (9%, 28 Votes)
Total Voters: 311
Leave you answer in the poll above, and leave your reasoning below.