Wimbledon Tennis 2010: Rafa Nadal Wins Mens Singles Final in Straight Sets

Spaniard Rafael Nadal was in imperious form this afternoon as he won the 2010 Wimbledon Men’s Singles Final in straight sets, defeating Czech Tomas Berdych 6-3 7-5 6-4.

Nadal ended the match with a break of serve in the third set with a beauty of a cross court passing shot following an intense game. As he had all match, Nadal lifted his level from great to sublime in order to win a vital game at a perfect time.

Nadal had set this precedent early, in the seventh game, when he broke Berdych – so impressive against World Number Two, Roger Federer, and World Number Three, Novak Djokovic, in the previous rounds – before breaking again and serving out to lift the first set 6-3.

The Spaniard waited until the last possible moment to take the second set with another raise of his level as Berdych served at 5-6. Berdych failed to get first serves in, and Nadal leapt on the second, piling powerful returns and ground strokes back across the net, which Berdych was unable to live with. Two sets to love.

The third set followed a similar pattern – Berdych’s first serve was a little below the high standard he set against Federer and Djokovic, but Nadal was so solid with his return of serve, and his own first serve was brilliantly consistent – such a feature of his game in the past couple of years – which led to Berdych having to hold serve to stay in the match when serving at 4-5 in the third set.

Nadal pounced on everything in this final Berdych service game, however, before hitting home a phenomenal winner cross-court on his first Championship Point.

Berdych had played his part, but this final was to prove a step too far – he would have to have even exceeded his incredible previous two games in order to overcome his opponent today, so at home on Centre Court was Rafa Nadal.

If Nadal can keep his fitness – he has made his points much shorter, and doesn’t seem to be pounding his body quite as hard as the Nadal of old – he is sure to be playing many more Grand Slam Finals in the future – and, on today’s evidence, he will keep on winning them.

The Men’s game has got much more depth of late, but, as Nadal proved today, there is one man blazing a trail slightly proud of all – and that man is the World Number One Player, Rafael Nadal.

In This Story: Djokovic

Novak Djokovic is a Serbian professional tennis player who is currently ranked world No. 1 in men’s singles tennis by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP).

Djokovic has won 17 Grand Slam singles titles, the third-most in history for a male player, five ATP Finals titles, a record 36 ATP Tour Masters 1000 titles, 14 ATP Tour 500 titles, and has held the No. 1 spot in the ATP rankings for a total of 289 weeks (second of all time). In majors, he has won a record eight Australian Open titles, five Wimbledon titles, three US Open titles, and one French Open title. By winning the 2016 French Open, he became the eighth player in history to achieve the Career Grand Slam and the third man to hold all four major titles at once, the first since Rod Laver in 1969.

Books #Ad

2 Recent Items: Djokovic

  • 2021 Tsitsipas v Nadal QuarterFinal | AO Classics
  • 20 GOAT Rallies Between the Big 3 Federer, Djokovic & Nadal! 🐐
  • In This Story: Rafael Nadal

    Rafael Nadal is a Spanish professional tennis player currently ranked world No. 2 in men’s singles tennis by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP).

    Nadal has won 19 Grand Slam singles titles, the second-most in history for a male player, as well as 35 ATP Tour Masters 1000 titles, 21 ATP Tour 500 titles and the 2008 Olympic gold medal in singles and the 2016 Olympic gold medal in doubles. In addition, Nadal has held the world No. 1 ranking for a total of 209 weeks, including being the year-end No. 1 five times.

    In majors, Nadal has won a record twelve French Open titles, four US Open titles, two Wimbledon titles and one Australian Open title, and won at least one Grand Slam every year for a record ten consecutive years (2005–2014). Nadal has won 85 career titles overall, including the most outdoor titles in the Open Era (83) and a record 59 titles on clay. With 81 consecutive wins on clay, Nadal holds the record for the longest single-surface win streak in the Open Era.

    Nadal has been involved in five Davis Cup titles with Spain, and currently has a 29-win streak and 29–1 record in singles matches at the event. In 2010, at the age of 24, he became the seventh male player and the youngest of five in the Open Era to achieve the singles Career Grand Slam. Nadal is the second male player after Andre Agassi to complete the singles Career Golden Slam, as well as the second male player after Mats Wilander to have won at least two Grand Slams on all three surfaces (grass, hard court and clay).

    Books #Ad

    2 Recent Items: Rafael Nadal

  • 2021 Tsitsipas v Nadal QuarterFinal | AO Classics
  • 2020 Serena Williams v Qiang Wang 3R | AO Classics
  • Leave a Comment