Djokovic Looks to Complete Title Set at French Open

Rafael Nadal with the 2011 French Open Trophy

The Roland Garros French Open Tennis tournament begins on Sunday 26th May 2013 and runs for two weeks.

All eyes are on Spaniard, Rafa Nadal, who has won 7 out of his last 8 appearances.

Novak Djokovic will be looking to claim the only title not yet in his cabinet and to do it he’ll likely have to beat the Majorcan left-hander on his favoured surface.

However, Djokovic’s confidence should be high after he beat Rafa on the clay in April. The pair faced each other in the final of the Monte Carlo Masters, which ended 6-2, 7-6 (1). The last time anyone had beaten Rafa in Monaco was 10 years ago.

Selected Men’s First Round Games

Novak Djokovic V David Goffin

Rafael Nadal V Daniel Brands

Tomas Berdych V Gael Monfils

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga V Aljaz Bedene

Pablo Carreno-Busta V Roger Federer

Reigning champion Maria Sharapova will have her eye on retaining the Coupe Suzanne-Lenglen. She has been seeded number 2 and will face Su-Wei Hsieh of Chinese Taipei in the first round.

The tournament had its record attendance in 2012 with 430,093 spectators passing through the turnstiles in Paris.

In This Story: Rafael Nadal

Rafael Nadal is a Spanish professional tennis player currently ranked world No. 2 in men’s singles tennis by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP).

Nadal has won 19 Grand Slam singles titles, the second-most in history for a male player, as well as 35 ATP Tour Masters 1000 titles, 21 ATP Tour 500 titles and the 2008 Olympic gold medal in singles and the 2016 Olympic gold medal in doubles. In addition, Nadal has held the world No. 1 ranking for a total of 209 weeks, including being the year-end No. 1 five times.

In majors, Nadal has won a record twelve French Open titles, four US Open titles, two Wimbledon titles and one Australian Open title, and won at least one Grand Slam every year for a record ten consecutive years (2005–2014). Nadal has won 85 career titles overall, including the most outdoor titles in the Open Era (83) and a record 59 titles on clay. With 81 consecutive wins on clay, Nadal holds the record for the longest single-surface win streak in the Open Era.

Nadal has been involved in five Davis Cup titles with Spain, and currently has a 29-win streak and 29–1 record in singles matches at the event. In 2010, at the age of 24, he became the seventh male player and the youngest of five in the Open Era to achieve the singles Career Grand Slam. Nadal is the second male player after Andre Agassi to complete the singles Career Golden Slam, as well as the second male player after Mats Wilander to have won at least two Grand Slams on all three surfaces (grass, hard court and clay).

Books #Ad

2 Recent Items: Rafael Nadal

  • 2021 Tsitsipas v Nadal QuarterFinal | AO Classics
  • 2020 Serena Williams v Qiang Wang 3R | AO Classics
  • Leave a Comment