Aegon Championships at Queen’s in London Starts Countdown to Wimbledon

World tennis moves to the Queen’s Club in London from 6th – 12th June for the 2011 Aegon Championships. French Open Champion, Rafael Nadal, will have a little time to recuperate during the first rounds on Monday starting at 12.30 (BST).

The men-only lawn tennis event offers prize money of €608,000 and is considered a warm-up event for Wimbledon. In 2009, Andy Murray took the title and in 2010 Sam Querrey was crowned champion after defeating Mardy Fish.

This year’s seeds are as follows:

  1. Rafael Nadal     ESP
  2. Andy Murray     GBR
  3. Andy Roddick     USA
  4. Stanislas Wawrinka     SUI
  5. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga     FRA
  6. Gilles Simon     FRA
  7. Fernando Verdasco     ESP
  8. Marin Cilic     CRO
  9. David Nalbandian     ARG
  10. Michael Llodra     FRA
  11. Thomaz Bellucci     BRA
  12. Juan Martin Del Potro     ARG
  13. Sam Querrey     USA
  14. Janko Tipsarevic     SRB
  15. Kevin Anderson     RSA
  16. Ivan Ljubicic     CRO

In This Story: Aegon N.V.

Aegon N.V. is a Dutch multinational life insurance, pensions and asset management company headquartered in The Hague, Netherlands. As of July 21, 2020, the company had 26,000 employees. (Euronext: AGN, NYSE: AEG, AEX component).

2 Recent Items: Aegon N.V.

  • Brilliant Grigor Dimitrov shots in win vs Benneteau | Queen’s 2017 Highlights
  • 2017 Aegon Championships, Monday Highlights
  • In This Story: Rafael Nadal

    Rafael Nadal is a Spanish professional tennis player currently ranked world No. 2 in men’s singles tennis by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP).

    Nadal has won 19 Grand Slam singles titles, the second-most in history for a male player, as well as 35 ATP Tour Masters 1000 titles, 21 ATP Tour 500 titles and the 2008 Olympic gold medal in singles and the 2016 Olympic gold medal in doubles. In addition, Nadal has held the world No. 1 ranking for a total of 209 weeks, including being the year-end No. 1 five times.

    In majors, Nadal has won a record twelve French Open titles, four US Open titles, two Wimbledon titles and one Australian Open title, and won at least one Grand Slam every year for a record ten consecutive years (2005–2014). Nadal has won 85 career titles overall, including the most outdoor titles in the Open Era (83) and a record 59 titles on clay. With 81 consecutive wins on clay, Nadal holds the record for the longest single-surface win streak in the Open Era.

    Nadal has been involved in five Davis Cup titles with Spain, and currently has a 29-win streak and 29–1 record in singles matches at the event. In 2010, at the age of 24, he became the seventh male player and the youngest of five in the Open Era to achieve the singles Career Grand Slam. Nadal is the second male player after Andre Agassi to complete the singles Career Golden Slam, as well as the second male player after Mats Wilander to have won at least two Grand Slams on all three surfaces (grass, hard court and clay).

    Books #Ad

    2 Recent Items: Rafael Nadal

  • Have you EVER seen a better lob? 🎾🎾
  • Stunning Backhand Slice Passing Shot From Matteo Berrettini | 2021 US Open
  • Leave a Comment

    We don't require your email address now, just your name. BUT, if you do add it, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.