Horse Racing Results: Meydan, Friday 3 February 2012

A high quality six race card took place at Meydan, Dubai, UAE on the afternoon of Friday 3rd February 2012, as horses from across the globe competed on Tapeta and Turf.

The showcase race of the day was undoubtedly the UAE 1000 Guineas Sponsored By Gulf News, which was won by the Godolphin owned Gamilati under expressive Italian jockey, Frankie Dettori (video above), but that filly’s five and a half length win was only one among a full day of highlights.

Full results from Meydan from Friday 3rd February 2012 are detailed below.

15:00 – Race 1 – Freehold Trophy

This event saw a field of 14 line up a 1600M (approximately 8 furlongs) handicap race on the all weather (Tapeta) surface.

Sheik Hamdan al Maktoum and trainer Ali Rashid Al Raihe combined to produce the first and second horses home, with the winner Maraheb under Royston Ffrench proving a couple of lengths too good for this impressive field.

Pos Dist Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Maraheb (GB) A Al Raihe Royston Ffrench
2rd 2 Alazeyab (USA) A Al Raihe Tadhg O’Shea
3rd Hd Red Gulch (GB) M Al Zarooni Lanfranco Dettori
4th 0.75 Disa Leader (SAF) M de Kock Johnny Geroudis
5th HD Vagabond Shoes (IRE) S Chevalier Olivier Peslier
6th 2.25 Banna Boirche (IRE) M Halford Ryan Moore
7th 1 Reem (AUS) M de Kock Christophe Soumillon
8th 0.75 Jardim (BRZ) M de Kock Kevin Shea
9th 0.75 Dandy Boy (ITY) D Marnane Colm O’Donoghue
10th 1.25 Balducci (GB) E Oertel Mirco Demuro
11th 2.25 Regal Parade (GB) D Nicholls Adrian Nicholls
12th 0.5 Zanzamar (SAF) M de Kock Richard Hills
13th 0.75 Hujaylea (IRE) M Halford Shane Foley
14th 2.25 Bay Knight (IRE) JS Moore James Doyle

15:35 – Race 2 – Meydan Classic Trial Sponsored By XPRESS

Another field of 14 runners lined up for the 1400M (7 furlongs) second race, a conditions race for 3 year olds only, run on the turf.

The same trainer – Ali Rashid Al Raihe – collected a quick-fire double, this time with Factory Time winning under Silverstre De Sousa.

Pos Dist Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Factory Time (IRE) A Al Raihe Silvestre De Sousa
2rd 1.5 Kenny Powers (GB) T Dascombe Kieren Fallon
3rd Ns Fiscal (GB) M Al Jahouri Andrea Atzeni
4th Sh Right To Dream (IRE) B Meehan Lanfranco Dettori
5th SH Burano (IRE) B Meehan Richard Hills
6th 0.5 Bible Black (IRE) G Lyons Ryan Moore
7th 0.5 Energia Dust (BRZ) F Borges Valmir De Azeredo
8th 3 Need To Know (SAF) A Al Raihe Royston Ffrench
9th 0.25 Cody Maverick (IRE) A Al Raihe James Doyle
10th Sh Sand Stamp (FR) S Seemar Richard Mullen
11th HD Strait Of Zanzibar (USA) K Condon Shane Foley
12th 0.25 Old Pal (FR) N Petersen William Buick
13th 8.5 Ip Man (NZ) S Burridge Oscar Chavez
14th Dist Royal Tigre (USA) M Ramadan Mirco Demuro

16:10 – Race 3 – UAE 1000 Guineas Sponsored By Gulf News

An All-Weather (Tapeta) mile saw a field of six 3 year old fillies battle it out for the UAE 1,000 Guineas.

Godolhpin saddled the first two horses home, Gamilati and Pimpernel with the former looking mighty impressive to take out the victory under Frankie Dettori.

Pos Dist Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Gamilati (GB) M Al Zarooni Lanfranco Dettori
2rd 5.5 Pimpernel (IRE) M Al Zarooni Mickael Barzalona
3rd 2.25 Alsindi (IRE) A Al Raihe Royston Ffrench
4th 5.5 Moon Spun (SAF) H Brown Ryan Moore
5th 1 Colorful Notion (IRE) M Botti Mirco Demuro
6th 0.25 Mary Fildes (IRE) JS Moore James Doyle

16:45 – Race 4 – Classifieds Trophy

A 1,000M (approximately 5 furlongs) sprint handicap on the turf was next on the card.

Robert Cowell’s Monsieur Joe narrowly beat out David “Dandy” Nicholls’ Inxile in an exciting finish.

Pos Dist Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Monsieur Joe (IRE) R Cowell William Buick
2rd 0.25 Inxile (IRE) D Nicholls Adrian Nicholls
3rd 0.25 Bohemian Melody (GB) M Botti Ryan Moore
4th 0.75 Iver Bridge Lad (GB) J Ryan Michael O’Connell ( 2.5 kgs)
5th 0.25 Nocturnal Affair (SAF) D Marnane Colm O’Donoghue
6th 1.25 Mar Adentro (FR) R Chotard Christophe Soumillon
7th 0.75 Green Beret (IRE) A Al Raihe Royston Ffrench
8th 0.5 Dafeef (GB) D Watson Richard Hills
9th 1.25 Internationaldebut (IRE) P Midgley Kieren Fallon
10th 0.5 Invincible Ash (IRE) M Halford Shane Foley
11th 9.25 Happy Dubai (IRE) A Al Raihe Tadhg O’Shea
12th 1 Humidor (IRE) G Baker Lanfranco Dettori
13th 1.25 Winker Watson (GB) M Channon Silvestre De Sousa
14th Dist Rock Jock (IRE) E Charpy Ted Durcan

17:25 – Race 5 – Al Shindagha Sprint Sponsored By Gulf News

Another sprint, this time over 1,200M (approximately 6 furlongs) was next on the card – this time a Group 3 event for 3 year olds upwards.

Another close finish saw the David Barron trained Hitchens come out on top from Kieren Fallon mount, Krypton Factor.

Pos Dist Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Hitchens (IRE) TD Barron Silvestre De Sousa
2rd Sh Krypton Factor (GB) F Nass Kieren Fallon
3rd 1.75 Alo Pura (GB) D Selvaratnam William Buick
4th 0.75 Captain Obvious (AUS) S Burridge Oscar Chavez
5th 0.75 Rerouted (USA) M de Kock Christophe Soumillon
6th 2.25 Seachantach (USA) S Seemar Richard Mullen
7th 0.25 Jimmy Styles (GB) C Cox James Doyle
8th 1.75 Angel’s Pursuit (IRE) D Marnane Colm O’Donoghue
9th Hd Sir Reginald (GB) R Fahey Paul Hanagan
10th 2.5 Dohasa (IRE) I Mohammed Antioco Murgia (nil)
11th 3 Mujaazef (GB) A Al Raihe Richard Hills
12th 2 Critical Moment (USA) F Nass Ted Durcan
13th 3.25 Hajoum (IRE) A Al Raihe Royston Ffrench

18:00 – Race 6 – Tabloid Trophy

The final event of the afternoon was the longest race of the day – a 2,810M (1M6F) Handicap event on the Turf.

Sheik Hamdan bin Mohamed al Maktoum was successful with the Frankie Dettori ridden Fox Hunt winning with a little in hand.

Pos Dist Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Fox Hunt (IRE) M Al Zarooni Lanfranco Dettori
2rd 3.25 Averroes (IRE) E Oertel Mirco Demuro
3rd 0.5 Manjakani (GB) I Mohammed Tadhg O’Shea
4th 1 Glen’s Diamond (GB) R Fahey Paul Hanagan
5th 0.75 Tanfeeth (GB) M Al Muhairi Richard Hills
6th 1.5 Electrolyser (IRE) C Cox James Doyle
7th 7.25 Royaaty (IRE) M bin Shafya Xavier Ziani
8th 1.25 Plantagenet (SPA) G Arizkorreta William Buick
9th 3.5 Happy Valley (ARG) M de Kock Christophe Soumillon
10th 0.25 Glen Nevis (USA) A Al Raihe Royston Ffrench
11th 3 Montaff (GB) M Channon Ted Durcan
12th 13.5 Nanton (USA) E Charpy Ryan Moore
13th 14.5 Astral Thunder (ARG) D Watson Kieren Fallon

Videos courtesy Emirates Racing Authority.

Leave a Comment

We don't require your email address, or your name, for anyone to leave a comment. If you do add an email address, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment - we won't use it for any other purpose. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Links are not allowed in comments - 99% of spam comments, attempt to post links. Please describe where people may find additional information - for example "visit the UN website" or "search Google for..." rather than posting a link. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.