Formula 1: Raikkonen Takes First Ferrari Win of 2009 in Belgian Grand Prix

Subscribe to The Global Herald in Google News
Championship leader jenson button retired at the start of the belgian grand prix
Championship leader jenson button retired at the start of the belgian grand prix

Fin, Kimi Raikkonen, in the red of Ferrari, won his – and Ferrari’s – first Formula 1 Grand Prix since 2008 in lifting the Belgian Grand Prix by under 1 second from Giancarlo Fisichella of Force India.

The Italian, Fisichella, secured Force India’s best ever finishing position with an excellent drive, during which his pace was oft better than that of the Ferrari man in front, however, the team in Red managed to produce when required in every pit stop to maintain their lead and announce their arrival back at the head of Formula One.

Championship leader, Brit Jenson Button once again had a difficult time as he crashed out at the start of the race. He remains at the head of the drivers championship, however, after yet another set of new names at the head of the podium.

Sebastian Vettel chipped yet more points off Button’s total by finishing third with a solid performance.

Those in charge of Formula 1 will surely be pleased that there were three different cars on the podium, and that, it seems, several teams appear to be competitive this year.

Perhaps the drive of the day – yet again – came from Rubens Barrichello, who nursed his Brawn home for three laps with smoke pouring from the car’s engine. Just after bringing the car home in 7th place, the Brazilian’s car burst into flames.

Here is the final classification for the Belgian Grand Prix, which took place today, Sunday 30th August 2009:

  1. K Raikkonen – Ferrari
  2. G Fisichella – Force India Mercedes
  3. S Vettel – RBR-Renault
  4. R Kubica – BMW Sauber
  5. N Heidfeld – BMW Sauber
  6. H Kovalainen – McLaren Mercedes
  7. R Barrichello – Brawn Mercedes
  8. N Rosberg – Williams Toyota
  9. M Webber – RBR Renault
  10. T Glock – Toyota
  11. A sutil – Force India Mercedes
  12. S Buemi – STR-Ferrari
  13. K Nakajima – Williams Toyota
  14. L Badoer – Ferrari


  • F Alonso – Fenault
  • J Trulli – Toyota
  • J Button – Brawn Mercedes
  • R Grosjean – Renault
  • L Hamilton – McLaren Mercedes
  • J Alguersuari – STR Ferrari

Drivers Championship After Belgium:

  1. Jenson Button – 72
  2. Rubens Barrichello – 56
  3. Sebastian Vettel – 53
  4. Mark Webber – 51.5
  5. Kimi Raikkonen – 34
  6. Nico Rosberg – 30.5
  7. Lewis Hamilton – 27
  8. Jarno Trulli – 22.5
  9. Felipe Massa – 22
  10. Heikki Kovalainen – 17
  11. Timo Glock – 16
  12. Fernando Alonso – 16
  13. Nick Heidfeld – 10
  14. Giancarlo Fisichella – 8
  15. Robert Kubica – 8
  16. Sebastien Buemi – 3
  17. Sebastien Bourdais – 2

The Formula 1 World Championship is now wide open after the early leaders appear to be struggling, and those who were struggling early seem to have produced better cars.

Subscribe to The Global Herald in Google News

In This Story: Belgium

Belgium, officially the Kingdom of Belgium, is a country in Western Europe. It is bordered by the Netherlands to the north, Germany to the east, Luxembourg to the southeast, France to the southwest, and the North Sea to the northwest.

It covers an area of 30,689 km2 (11,849 sq mi) and has a population of more than 11.5 million, making it the 22nd most densely populated country in the world and the 6th most densely populated country in Europe, with a density of 376 per square kilometre (970/sq mi). The capital and largest city is Brussels; other major cities are Antwerp, Ghent, Charleroi, Liège, Bruges, Namur, and Leuven.

Legally, Belgium is a sovereign state and a federal constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system. Its institutional organization is complex and is structured on both regional and linguistic grounds. It is divided into three highly autonomous regions: the Flemish Region in the north, Wallonia in the south, and the Brussels-Capital Region.

2 Recent Items: Belgium

  • New Covid strain sparks fear in markets — Here’s how to invest now
  • COVID-19: Biden delivers remarks on Omicron variant as travel restrictions take effect | LIVE
  • In This Story: India

    India, officially the Republic of India, is a country in South Asia. It is the second-most populous country, the seventh-largest country by land area, and the most populous democracy in the world. New Delhi is the capital.

    It has an exceptionally diverse population, with Hindus, Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains and other religions speaking over 21 recognised languages.

    2 Recent Items: India

  • Covid-19: Omicron case confirmed on French territory of Reunion • FRANCE 24 English
  • India’s farmers celebrate after repeal of controversial agriculture reform laws
  • In This Story: Kimi Raikkonen

    Kimi-Matias Räikkönen, nicknamed “The Iceman”, is a Finnish racing driver currently driving in Formula One for Alfa Romeo Racing, racing under the Finnish flag. Räikkönen won the 2007 Formula One World Championship driving for Scuderia Ferrari.

    3 Recent Items: Kimi Raikkonen

  • Vettel Wins Belgian Grand Prix 2013
  • Kimi Räikkönen Meets Rune Glifberg in Budapest
  • Formula 1: Rosberg on Pole for Monaco Grand Prix 2013
  • Leave a Comment

    We don't require your email address, or your name, for anyone to leave a comment. If you do add an email address, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment - we won't use it for any other purpose. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Links are not allowed in comments - 99% of spam comments, attempt to post links. Please verbalise where people may find additional information - for example "visit the UN website" or "search Google for..." rather than posting a link. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.