FIFA World Cup 2014: Japan 23 Man Squad

Japan have named their 23 man squad ahead of the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Coach Alberto Zacheroni has made his selection ahead of a group stage through which Japan will fancy their chances of progressing.

Japan’s Group C draw will see them face Colombia, Greece and Ivory Coast in the opening fixtures.

Japan have played in four World Cups to date, reaching the Round of 16 twice, in 2002 and 2010. They will be hoping for at least a repeat of that from this draw.

Japan 23 Man Squad

1 Eiji KAWASHIMA Goalkeeper
2 Atsuto UCHIDA Defender
3 Gotoku SAKAI Defender
4 Keisuke HONDA Forward
5 Yuto NAGATOMO Defender
6 Masato MORISHIGE Defender
7 Yasuhito ENDO Midfielder
8 Hiroshi KIYOTAKE Forward
9 Shinji OKAZAKI Forward
10 Shinji KAGAWA Forward
11 Yoichiro KAKITANI Forward
12 Shusaku NISHIKAWA Goalkeeper
13 Yoshito OKUBO Forward
14 Toshihiro AOYAMA Midfielder
15 Yasuyuki KONNO Defender
16 Hotaru YAMAGUCHI Midfielder
17 Makoto HASEBE Midfielder
18 Yuya OSAKO Forward
19 Masahiko INOHA Defender
20 Manabu SAITO Forward
21 Hiroki SAKAI Defender
22 Maya YOSHIDA Defender
23 Shuichi GONDA Goalkeeper

ZACCHERONI Alberto Coach (ITA)

In This Story: Japan

Japan is an island country in East Asia located in the northwest Pacific Ocean. It is bordered by the Sea of Japan to the west and extends from the Sea of Okhotsk in the north to the East China Sea and Taiwan in the south.

4 Recent Items: Japan

  • China calls for joint efforts with Japan to establish ‘genuine trust’
  • Coronavirus masks featuring diamonds and pearls sell for nearly US$10,500 each in Japan
  • China, Japan agree on combating COVID 19
  • Which Places Are the Most Resilient in the Face of Covid-19?
  • Leave a Comment