FIFA World Cup 2014: England 23 Man Squad

England manager Roy Hodgson announced his 23 man squad ahead of the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Hodgson has opted for a mixture which favours youth over experience, but has retained some of his most-capped players, including Steven Gerrard and Frank Lampard. Goalkeeper Joe Hart is set to retain the number one shirt for the Three Lions.

The excellent Wayne Rooney also remains from the squad selected in 2010: without the injury woes of previous World Cups, Rooney will be hoping he can at last get on the score-sheet in the tournament.

If England are to reach the knock-out phase, they must navigate their way through Group D, which also contains Uruguay, Italy and Costa Rica.

England 23 Man Squad

1 Joe HART Goalkeeper
2 Glen JOHNSON Defender
3 Leighton BAINES Defender
4 Steven GERRARD Midfielder
5 Gary CAHILL Defender
6 Phil JAGIELKA Defender
7 Jack WILSHERE Midfielder
8 Frank LAMPARD Midfielder
9 Daniel STURRIDGE Forward
10 Wayne ROONEY Forward
11 Danny WELBECK Forward
12 Chris SMALLING Defender
13 Ben FOSTER Goalkeeper
14 Jordan HENDERSON Midfielder
16 Phil JONES Defender
17 James MILNER Midfielder
18 Rickie LAMBERT Forward
19 Raheem STERLING Midfielder
20 Adam LALLANA Midfielder
21 Ross BARKLEY Midfielder
22 Fraser FORSTER Goalkeeper
23 Luke SHAW Defender


Leave a Comment

We don't require your email address now, just your name. BUT, if you do add it, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.