Cricket: Australia Name Ashes Squad

Australia have named their 17 strong squad for this summer’s home Ashes tournament against England.

There are few surprises in the squad, which featured many names from the Ashes tour of England 18 months ago, and is captained by Ricky Ponting.

Michael Clarke is named as vice captain despite his back injury niggles appearing to resurface in his last match for NSW.

Batsmen Simon Katich, Mike Hussey and Marcus North all keep their places, despite the former having struggled with injury and the latter two men with form.

The squad will be cut down to 12 or 13 in time for the Ashes opener at Brisbane on 25th November 2010.

Australia – 17 Man Ashes Squad

Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke (vice-captain), Doug Bollinger, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, Mike Hussey, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Usman Khawaja, Marcus North, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shane Watson

In This Story: Australia

Australia, officially known as the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world’s sixth-largest country by total area.

7 Recent Items: Australia

  • Australia – Prime Minister Addresses General Debate, 75th Session
  • Finland Deploys Coronavirus-Sniffing Dogs at Helsinki Airport
  • Kylie Minogue on her lockdown album and how the pandemic has affected her | ITV News
  • China reportedly expands Xinjiang Uighur detention camps | DW News
  • Rescue efforts continue in Australia’s mass whale stranding
  • Tokyo details plans for a “streamlined” Olympics due to COVID-19 pandemic | The World
  • Climate Change Won’t Stop Sydney’s Expansion
  • Leave a Comment