British Olympic Association: Athlete of the Year 2009 Awards

Alistair Brownlee: Triathalon World Champion and Athlete of the Year
Alistair Brownlee: Triathalon World Champion and Athlete of the Year

The British Olympic Association has just announced the 33 winners of the Athlete of the Year Awards – awarded to British athletes each year in every discipline.  The award was introduced in 2005, to mark the BOA’s Centenary Year and the success of London being awarded the 2012 Olympic Games. There are a number of World Champions among the names including Alistair Brownlee, Phillips Idowu, Beth Tweddle.

The British Olympic Association Chief Executive, Andy Hunt, said:

With the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games just around the corner, it is fantastic for British winter sport that we have two World Champions.

I wish all the BOA Olympic Athlete of the Year award winners the very best as they continue their preparations for Vancouver, London and beyond.

The Winners are as follows:

Aquatics – Gemma Spofforth
Archery – Simon Terry
Athletics – Phillips Idowu
Badminton – Donna Kellogg and Anthony Clark
Basketball – Jo Leedham
Biathlon – Lee Jackson
Bobsleigh – Nicola Minichiello and Gillian Cooke
Boxing – Martin Ward
Canoeing – Rachel Cawthorn
Cycling – Lizzie Armistead
Curling – Ewan McDonald
Equestrian – Kristina Cook
Fencing – Richard Kruse
Gymnastics – Beth Tweddle
Hockey – Barry Middleton
Ice Skating – Sinead and John Kerr
Judo – Karina Bryant
Luge – Adam Rosen
Modern Pentathlon – Heather Fell
Sailing – Paul Goodison
Shooting – Richard Faulds
Skiing – Chemmy Alcott
Taekwondo – Bianca Walkden
Tennis – Andy Murray
Triathlon – Alistair Brownlee
Volleyball – Lynn Beattie
Weightlifting – Peter Kirkbride
Wrestling – Leon Rattigan

Football, Handball, Ice Hockey, Rowing and Table Tennis are yet to announce their Olympic Athlete of the Year for 2009.

Leave a Comment

We don't require your email address now, just your name. BUT, if you do add it, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.