Home » Politics » Elections » Senators in Tasmania and Northern Territory Announced

Senators in Tasmania and Northern Territory Announced

The results of the Senate elections for Tasmania and the Northern Territory have been announced. The Australian Electoral Commission made the results public ahead of formal declarations in Hobart and Darwin.

Tasmania Senators

  1. Richard COLBECK – Liberal
  2. Carol BROWN – Australian Labor Party
  3. David BUSHBY – Liberal
  4. Catryna BILYK – Australian Labor Party
  5. Peter WHISH-WILSON – Australian Greens
  6. Jacqui LAMBIE – Palmer United Party

Northern Territory Senators

  1. Nigel SCULLION – Country Liberals (NT)
  2. Nova PERIS – Australian Labor Party (NT) Branch

The partial Senate elections in Australia took place at the same time as the vote for the House of Representatives. The Australian people returned a majority for the Liberal / National Coalition with Tony Abbott as Prime Minister. Full results were as follows:

House of Representatives Election 2013

  • Liberal / National Coalition – 89 seats
  • Australian Labor Party – 55 seats
  • The Greens – 1 seat
  • Katter’s Australian Party – 1 seat
  • Palmer United Party – 1 seat
  • Independent – 2
  • Not yet decided – 1

About Politics Desk

Politics Desk
Editors and staffers from the Politics Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Sean Kelly, Australia's Consul-General to Chennai. Image courtesy DFAT.

Sean Kelly Appointed Australia’s Consul-General in Chennai

Mr Sean Kelly will become Australia’s next Consul-General in Chennai, following an announcement by Australia’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *