Home » Sport » Rugby Union » 6 Nations » Rugby Union: England Name 3 New Caps in Starting XV to Face Scotland

Rugby Union: England Name 3 New Caps in Starting XV to Face Scotland

England have named a fresh looking squad to face Scotland at Murrayfield in Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations 2012 opening fixture, the Calcutta Cup.

The starting lineup contains a bold selection of three new caps: centre pairing Brad Barrit and Owen Farrell of Saracens, in addition to No. 8 Phil Dowson of Northampton Saints.

A further five uncapped players make the list of substitutes in the newest looking England RBS 6 Nations squad for many a season. Those players are Rob Webber (London Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Ben Morgan (Scarlets), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints) and Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins).

England’s Head Coach, Stuart Lancaster, said of the selection:

“We have been impressed with how the whole group has come together in the last 10 days and we have done a lot of work on and off the field.”

“Now is the time to turn all that into a performance against Scotland that we can all be proud of. It is a massive challenge – Murrayfield, the first game of the Six Nations – but one we are relishing.”

England Starting XV v Scotland – RBS 6 Nations 2012

  • 15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
  • 14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
  • 13 Brad Barritt (Saracens)*
  • 12 Owen Farrell (Saracens)*
  • 11 David Strettle (Saracens)
  • 10 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens)
  • 9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
  • 1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
  • 2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
  • 3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
  • 4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
  • 5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
  • 6 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
  • 7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt)
  • 8 Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)*


  • 16 Rob Webber (London Wasps)*
  • 17 Matt Stevens (Saracens)
  • 18 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)*
  • 19 Ben Morgan (Scarlets)*
  • 20 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)*
  • 21 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)*
  • 22 Mike Brown (Harlequins)

* Denoted uncapped player.

Scotland v England will kick-off at 17:00 GMT (18:00 CET) on Saturday 4th February 2012 at Murrayfield, Edinburgh, Scotland.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Wales U20s tackle ‘Six Nations, Six Questions’ quiz | U20 Six Nations

Website: RBS6Nations.com Facebook: RBS 6 Nations Twitter: @SixNationsRugby Instagram: SixNationsRugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *