Home » News » Rudd Announces Cabinet

Rudd Announces Cabinet

Following an extraordinary last-minute battle for the premiership of Australia, Kevin Rudd has announced the cabinet and ministers who will take the country into its next general election.

The New Cabinet

  • Anthony Albanese: Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy & Infrastructure and Transport.
  • Chris Bowen: Treasurer.
  • Jacinta Collins: Minister for Mental Health and Ageing.
  • Bill Shorten: Minister for Education and Workplace Relations.
  • Tony Burke: Minister for Immigration, Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship, as well as retaining the Arts portfolio.
  • Brendan O’Connor: Minister for Employment, and for Skills and Training.
  • Kim Carr: Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research and Minister for Higher Education.
  • Julie Collins: Minister for Housing and Homelessness, Community Services, Status of Women, and Indigenous Employment and Economic Development.
  • Mark Butler: Minister for Climate Change, Environment, Heritage and Water.
  • Catherine King: Minister for Regional Australia, Local Government and Territories.
  • Joel Fitzgibbon: Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.
  • Richard Marles: Minister for Trade.
  • Tanya Plibersek: Minister for Health.

Ministry changes

Kate Ellis will add the Youth portfolio to her current responsibilities.

In addition to his current portfolio, David Bradbury will assist the Treasurer in the Financial Services and Superannuation portfolio.

Kate Lundy will be the Minister for Multicultural Affairs, as well as the Minister Assisting for Industry and Innovation and for the Digital Economy.

Don Farrell will be the new Minister for Sport and continue to assist the Minister for Tourism.

Sharon Bird will join the ministry in the Regional Development, Regional Communications and Road Safety portfolios.

Melissa Parke will also join the ministry as the first Minister for International Development.

The recommendations have been passed onto the Governor-General and were sworn in on Monday 1st July 2013. The next general election in Australia will take place before 30th November 2013, and is expected to be held on the date first announced by then-Prime Minister, Julia Gillard: 14th September 2013.

Labor leader and Prime Minister, Kevin Rudd will now have the opportunity to change the date. The Australian parliament is now in recess and reconvenes on 20th August 2013.

About Politics Desk

Politics Desk
Editors and staffers from the Politics Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Scaramucci: Leakers would have been hung centuries ago

White House Communications Director Anthony Scaramucci says today’s White House leaks are “so treasonous” that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *