Home » Sport » Rugby Union » 6 Nations » RBS 6 Nations 2012: France Name Starting XV to Face Ireland

RBS 6 Nations 2012: France Name Starting XV to Face Ireland

France head coach, Philippe Saint-Andre, had named an unchanged 22 man squad to face Ireland, in their second RBS 6 Nations 2012 fixture, but has been forced to make one change, following the midweek injury to Dimitri Yachvili.

Scrum Half Yachvili exits the squad, with Morgan Parra restored to a starting berth. Stade de France’s Julien Dupuy comes onto the replacements bench as a stand in for Parra.

There have also been four changes to the starting lineup from the team which faced Italy a week ago.

On the front row, Jean-Baptiste Poux and hooker Dimitri Szarzweski come in for Debarty and Servat, who move to the bench, while lock, Yoann Maestri, comes in to replace Lionel Nallet. Maestri is making his first ever RBS 6 Nations start.

The final change for France is the experienced flanker, Imanol Harinordoquy, who will start at 7 in place of Julien Bonnaire, who moves to an impressive looking bench.

France will be captained for the 28th time by flanker Thierry Dusautoir in their match against Ireland, who are looking for a first win following a narrow opening week home defeat against Wales.

All of France’s experienced squad has at least one cap to his name, including last week’s first timer, Wesley Fofana, in centre, who retains his place after an impressive debut match against Italy.

France Starting XV to Face Ireland, RBS 6 Nations 2012

  • 15 Maxime Medard (Toulouse)
  • 14 Vincent Clerc (Toulouse)
  • 13 Aurelien Rougerie (Clermont Auvergne)
  • 12 Wesley Fofana (Clermont Auvergne)
  • 11 Julien Malzieu (Clermont Auvergne)
  • 10 Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier)
  • 9 Morgan Parra (Clermont Auvergne)
  • 1 Jean-Baptiste Poux (Toulouse)
  • 2 Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Francais Paris)
  • 3 Nicolas Mas (Perpignan)
  • 4 Pascal Pape (Stade Francais Paris)
  • 5 Yoann Maestri (Toulouse)
  • 6 Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse, Capt)
  • 7 Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz Olympique)
  • 8 Louis Picamoles (Toulouse)

France Replacements

  • 16 William Servat (Toulouse)
  • 17 Vincent Debaty (Clermont Auvergne)
  • 18 Lionel Nallet (Racing-Metro 92)
  • 19 Julien Bonnaire (Clermont Auvergne)
  • 20 Julien Dupuy (Stade Francais Paris)
  • 21 Lionel Beauxis (Toulouse)
  • 22 Maxime Mermoz (Perpignan)

France v Ireland will kick-off at 21:00 CET (20:00 GMT) on the evening of Saturday 11th February 2012, at Stade de France, Paris.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Teammates w/ Ireland’s Charlie Connolly & Rob Lyttle | U20 Six Nations

Website: RBS6Nations.com Facebook: RBS 6 Nations Twitter: @SixNationsRugby Instagram: SixNationsRugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *