Home » Sport » Rafael Nadal wins 2011 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

Rafael Nadal wins 2011 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

The 2011 Laureus World Sports Awards have been decided and tennis superstar Rafael Nadal has been awarded the 2011 Laureus World Sportsman of the World.

The Laureus World Sports Academy is the ultimate sports jury, voting each year to decide the winners of the Laureus World Sports Awards. The Academy is made up of 46 of the greatest living sporting legends from all backgrounds, and believe in sport breaking down barriers and essentially making the world a better place.

The Spanish tennis sensation won all Grand Slams in the same year, in the process became the third youngest ever to do so, behind Don Budge and Rod Laver.

The 2011 Laureus World Sports Women of the Year was won by US skier Lindsey Vonn, confirming she is one of the greatest skiers of all time with another stellar year.

Other winners include:

– Laureus World Team of the Year: Spain (Football)

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Martin Kaymer, Germany (Golf)

– Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Valentino Rossi, Italy (MotoGP)

– Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Verena Bentele, Germany (Skiing)

– Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Kelly Slater, USA (Surfing)

– Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award: Zinidine Zidane, France (Football)

– Laureus Sport for Good Award: May El-Khalil, Lebanon (Running)

– Laureus Spirit of Sport Award: European Ryder Cup Team (Golf)

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Speed Finals | Ice Climbing World Championship

Live from Champagny-en-Vanoise for the 2017 UIAA Ice Climbing World Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *