Ed Miliband Names Alan Johnson British Shadow Chancellor

UK Labour Party

New British Labour Party leader Ed Miliband has named former Home Secretary Alan Johnson as the new Shadow Chancellor during today’s shadow cabinet reshuffle.

The move has been described a “shock” decision, primarily because many political commentators had expected Ed Balls to be given the role.

Other key appointments are as follows:

British Shadow Cabinet (from 8th October 2010)

  • Ed Miliband – Leader of the Opposition
  • Harriet Harman – Deputy Leader and Shadow Secretary of State for International Development
  • Alan Johnson – Shadow Chancellor
  • Yvette Cooper – Shadow Foreign Secretary and Minister for Women and Equalities
  • Ed Balls – Shadow Home Secretary
  • Rosie Winterton – Chief Whip
  • Andy Burnham – Shadow Education Secretary
  • Sadiq Khan – Shadow Lord Chancellor and Justice Secretary
  • Douglas Alexander – Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary
  • John Denham – Shadow Business Secretary
  • John Healey – Shadow Health Secretary
  • Caroline Flint – Shadow Secretary Communities and Local Government Secretary
  • Jim Murphy – Shadow Defence Secretary
  • Meg Hillier – Shadow Energy and Climate Change Secretary
  • Hilary Benn – Shadow Commons Leader
  • Maria Eagle – Shadow Transport Secretary
  • Mary Creagh – Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary
  • Angela Eagle – Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  • Shaun Woodward – Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary
  • Ann McKechin – Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland
  • Peter Hain – Shadow Welsh Secretary
  • Ivan Lewis – Shadow Culture, Media and Sport Secretary
  • Baroness Royall of Blaisdon – Shadow Lords Leader
  • Tessa Jowell – Shadow Olympics Minister
  • Liam Byrne – Shadow Cabinet Office Minister
  • Lord Bassam of Brighton – Lords Chief Whip
  • Baroness Scotland – Shadow Attorney-General

Leave a Comment