Wild bison to be reintroduced after 15,000 years

Wild bison are to be reintroduced to Britain after 15,000 years as part of a “groundbreaking” rewilding conservation scheme.

The mammals are not thought to have roamed British soil for thousands of years, and went extinct in Europe in 1919. Since then, other European countries have successfully reintroduced the large beast, including Poland, Romania and the Netherlands.

The European bison is the the closest living relative to ancient steppe bison that would have once roamed Britain and naturally managed the habitat, conservationists said.

The Wildlife Trusts hope this will be the case again, and are due to release a closely-knit herd of four European bison into a fenced 1,200 acre enclosure away from public footpaths, in what is the first time the animals have been introduced to a nature reserve to help wildlife in the UK.

It is hoped by experts that the £1 million project at Blean Woods near Canterbury, Kent, will show the benefits bison have on the habitat, and eventually they will be allowed to roam without being fenced.

Get the latest headlines: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/

Telegraph.co.uk and YouTube.com/TelegraphTV are websites of The Telegraph, the UK’s best-selling quality daily newspaper providing news and analysis on UK and world events, business, sport, lifestyle and culture.

In This Story: Netherlands

The Netherlands, informally Holland, is a country primarily located in Western Europe and partly in the Caribbean, forming the largest constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In Europe, it consists of 12 provinces that border Germany to the east, Belgium to the south, and the North Sea to the northwest, with maritime borders in the North Sea with those countries and the United Kingdom. In the Caribbean, it consists of three special municipalities: the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. The country’s official language is Dutch, with West Frisian as a secondary official language in the province of Friesland, and English and Papiamentu as secondary official languages in the Caribbean Netherlands. Dutch Low Saxon and Limburgish are recognised regional languages (spoken in the east and southeast respectively), while Sinte Romani and Yiddish are recognised non-territorial languages.

2 Recent Items: Netherlands

  • 🇳🇱 Netherlands – Prime Minister Addresses UN General Debate, 76th Session (English) | #UNGA
  • Woman narrowly escapes being hit by a train | #shorts | ABC News
  • In This Story: Poland

    Poland, officially the Republic of Poland, is a country located in Central Europe. It is divided into 16 administrative provinces, covering an area of 312,696 square kilometres, and has a largely temperate seasonal climate.

    Poland’s capital and largest metropolis is Warsaw.

    2 Recent Items: Poland

  • Migrants freezing to death on Belarus-Poland border – BBC News
  • Poland’s waste secret: Europe plays with fire • FRANCE 24 English
  • In This Story: Romania

    Romania is a southeastern European country known for the forested region of Transylvania, ringed by the Carpathian Mountains. Its preserved medieval towns include Sighişoara, and there are many fortified churches and castles, notably clifftop Bran Castle, long associated with the Dracula legend. Bucharest, the country’s capital, is the site of the gigantic, Communist-era Palatul Parlamentului government building.

    2 Recent Items: Romania

  • 🇷🇴 Romania – President Addresses General Debate, 76th Session (English) | #UNGA
  • Romania bear attacks: Government not ruling out return to hunting
  • Leave a Comment

    We don't require your email address now, just your name. BUT, if you do add it, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.