Why are farmers in the Netherlands angry? | Inside Story

Al Jazeera English published this video item, entitled “Why are farmers in the Netherlands angry? | Inside Story” – below is their description.

Farmers in the Netherlands are angry

They’re rejecting laws that regulate emissions produced by livestock, but will have a major impact on the farming community and the larger economy.

The Netherlands has failed to meet its emissions reduction targets – so permits for new homes and roads have not been granted since 2019, to prevent further pollution.

And the government has introduced tough new rules.

Its $100-billion food export industry – one of the biggest in the world – could be badly affected.

So, what will this climate policy mean for global food supplies?

Presenter: Rob Matheson


Jeroen Van Maanen – Dairy Farmer and Protest Organiser.

Natasja Oerlemans – Food and Agriculture Expert at the World Wide Fund for Nature Netherlands.

Theo Mandersloot – Broker in agriculture commodities at AGRACOM.

Subscribe to our channel http://bit.ly/AJSubscribe

Follow us on Twitter https://twitter.com/AJEnglish

Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/aljazeera

Check our website: http://www.aljazeera.com/




Al Jazeera English YouTube Channel

Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

About This Source - Al Jazeera English

The video item below is a piece of English language content from Al Jazeera. Al Jazeera is a Qatari state-funded broadcaster based in Doha, Qatar, owned by the Al Jazeera Media Network.

Recent from Al Jazeera English:

India and Pakistan: What was partition? | Al Jazeera Newsfeed

How should we adapt to climate change?

Supporters of Imran Khan gather to protest in Pakistan

In This Story: Netherlands

The Netherlands, informally Holland, is a country primarily located in Western Europe and partly in the Caribbean, forming the largest constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In Europe, it consists of 12 provinces that border Germany to the east, Belgium to the south, and the North Sea to the northwest, with maritime borders in the North Sea with those countries and the United Kingdom. In the Caribbean, it consists of three special municipalities: the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. The country’s official language is Dutch, with West Frisian as a secondary official language in the province of Friesland, and English and Papiamentu as secondary official languages in the Caribbean Netherlands. Dutch Low Saxon and Limburgish are recognised regional languages (spoken in the east and southeast respectively), while Sinte Romani and Yiddish are recognised non-territorial languages.

2 Recent Items: Netherlands

I Can’t Believe He Just DID THIS

Church bells play Grease song in honour of Olivia Newton John

Leave a Comment

We don't require your email address, or your name, for anyone to leave a comment. If you do add an email address, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment - we won't use it for any other purpose. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Links are not allowed in comments - 99% of spam comments, attempt to post links. Please describe where people may find additional information - for example "visit the UN website" or "search Google for..." rather than posting a link. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.