What power does the UNGA have to enforce resolutions? | Talk To Al Jazeera

About This Source - Al Jazeera English

The video item below is a piece of English language content from Al Jazeera. Al Jazeera is a Qatari state-funded broadcaster based in Doha, Qatar, owned by the Al Jazeera Media Network.

Recent from Al Jazeera English:

  • Japan to release contaminated Fukushima water into sea
  • England takes major step out of COVID lockdown; PM urges caution
  • Ramadan decorations in occupied East Jerusalem as Palestinians welcome holy month | AJ #shorts
  • As the second world war was ending in June 1945, representatives of 50 countries signed the United Nations Charter in San Francisco in the US state of California.

    The UN officially came into existence in October of the same year, when the Charter was ratified by China, France, the then-Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, the United States, and by a majority of other signatories.

    Almost 75 years later, the UN comprises 193 member states, all represented in one of its six main organs – the UN General Assembly.

    The UNGA’s first session with representatives from 51 nations was in London on January 10, 1946. The next few annual sessions were held in different cities, then moved to the UN’s permanent headquarters in New York in 1952.

    The annual UNGA in September is chaired by a president voted for by member states. But what power does the Assembly have to enforce its resolutions or to compel countries to act?

    We find out as the President of 2019’s 74th session of the UNGA, Nigeria’s Ambassador to the UN Tijjani Muhammad-Bande, talks to Al Jazeera.

    – Subscribe to our channel: http://aje.io/AJSubscribe
    – Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/AJEnglish
    – Find us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/aljazeera
    – Check our website: https://www.aljazeera.com/

    In This Story: France

    France is a republic and the largest Western European nation. Through expansion and colonisation in the 17th and 18th centuries France became a great power and still retains territories around the world. It has a seat on the UN security council and is the world’s fourth most wealthy country with a high standard of living and strong cultural identity.

    6 Recent Items: France

  • Rome Mayor mixes up colosseum, French Nîmes arena in golf ad sparking rage for ‘monumental’ error
  • Islam’s holy month of Ramadan starts amid worldwide Covid-19 restrictions
  • African countries try to boost local Covid-19 vaccine production as 99% is imported
  • WHO warns Covid-19 infections rising exponentially, solution is ‘not vaccines only’
  • ‘Why they hate each other’: Explaining the Macron-Hidalgo rivalry in France
  • Covid-19 pandemic ‘long way from over’ says WHO, as global infections continue to grow
  • In This Story: Nigeria

    Nigeria, an African country on the Gulf of Guinea, has many natural landmarks and wildlife reserves. Protected areas such as Cross River National Park and Yankari National Park have waterfalls, dense rainforest, savanna and rare primate habitats. One of the most recognizable sites is Zuma Rock, a 725m-tall monolith outside the capital of Abuja that’s pictured on the national currency.

    2 Recent Items: Nigeria

  • ECOSOC’s 2021 Forum on Financing for Development & other topics – Daily Briefing (12 April 2021)
  • Amina Mohammed: ‘A woman as president of Nigeria would be great’ | Talk to Al Jazeera
  • In This Story: Soviet Union

    The Soviet Union, officially the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), was a federal socialist state in Northern Eurasia that existed from 1922 to 1991. Nominally a union of multiple national Soviet republics, it was a one-party state (until 1990) governed by the Communist Party, with Moscow as its capital in its largest republic, the Russian SFSR.

    The Soviet Union had its roots in the October Revolution of 1917 when the Bolsheviks, headed by Vladimir Lenin, overthrew the Provisional Government that had earlier replaced the monarchy of the Russian Empire.

    On 25 December 1991, Gorbachev resigned and the remaining twelve constituent republics emerged from the dissolution of the Soviet Union as independent post-Soviet states. The Russian Federation (formerly the Russian SFSR) assumed the Soviet Union’s rights and obligations and is recognized as its continued legal personality.

    2 Recent Items: Soviet Union

  • Yuri Gagarin: Sixty years since the first human went into space
  • Putin vows Russia will remain key space power on 60th anniversary of Yuri Gagarin’s flight
  • In This Story: United Kingdom

    The United Kingdom, made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, is an island nation in northwestern Europe.

    The capital is London. The present monarch is Queen Elizabeth II.

    The United Kingdom is the seat of the formerly extensive British Empire.

    4 Recent Items: United Kingdom

  • Coronavirus peaks examined across the UK
  • Businesses reopen in UK as COVID-19 restrictions loosen
  • World pays tribute to the Duke of Edinburgh
  • World pays tribute to the Duke of Edinburgh
  • In This Story: United States

    The United States is a country also known as the United States of America, USA, US or just America. There are fifty states in the union, which is a federal republic ruled by a representative democracy. Nearly ten million square kilometres are inhabited by over 300 million people. The majority of Americans speak English.

    4 Recent Items: United States

  • Street riots have broken out in the United States | 7NEWS
  • How to stop Asian hate? Outrage over Covid-era spike in racist incidents
  • ‘I just shot him’: Police say Daunte Wright shooting ‘accidental’
  • Yuri Gagarin: Sixty years since the first human went into space
  • Leave a Comment