US spying row: Austrian ex-Foreign Minister Karin Kneissl comments on NSA-Denmark espionage claims

About This Source - RT

The video item below is a piece of English language content from RT (formerly Russia Today). RT is a Russian state-funded broadcaster.

Recent from RT:

  • ‘War is moving into the cyberspace’ | Peter Maurer to RT
  • CrossTalk | Russia-China Embrace
  • Torch-lit march by Palestinian protesters ends in clashes with IDF soldiers
  • RT published this video item, entitled “US spying row: Austrian ex-Foreign Minister Karin Kneissl comments on NSA-Denmark espionage claims” – below is their description.

    A bombshell report has revealed Denmark spied on Germany’s Angela Merkel as well as on other EU leaders for US intelligence.

    RT speaks to Karin Kneissl, former foreign minister of Austria.

    Read more:

    Follow us on Telegram

    RT YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Austria

    Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, is a landlocked East Alpine country in the southern part of Central Europe. It is composed of nine federated states, one of which is Vienna, Austria’s capital and its largest city.

    It is bordered by Germany to the northwest; the Czech Republic to the north; Slovakia to the northeast; Hungary to the east; Slovenia and Italy to the south; and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west.

    Austria occupies an area of 83,879 km2 (32,386 sq mi) and has a population of nearly 9 million people. While German is the country’s official language, many Austrians communicate informally in a variety of Bavarian dialects.

    2 Recent Items: Austria

  • Lineup set for round of 16 at Euro 2021
  • Wolfgang Puck’s journey from tumultuous childhood in Austria to iconic chef
  • In This Story: Denmark

    Denmark, officially the Kingdom of Denmark, is a Nordic country in Northern Europe.  The capital is Copenhagen. Denmark proper, consists of a peninsula, Jutland, and an archipelago of 443 islands.

    The Kingdom of Denmark comprises Denmark proper and the two autonomous territories in the North Atlantic Ocean: the Faroe Islands and Greenland. Home rule was established in the Faroe Islands in 1948; in Greenland home rule was established in 1979 and further autonomy in 2009.

    Denmark has highly developed mixed economy. Denmark became a member of the European Economic Community (now the EU) in 1973, but negotiated certain opt-outs; it retains its own currency, the krone. It is among the founding members of NATO, the Nordic Council, the OECD, OSCE, and the United Nations; it is also part of the Schengen Area. Denmark has close linguistic ties to its Scandinavian neighbours.

    2 Recent Items: Denmark

  • Euro 2020: Peter Schmeichel On Denmark Uniting In Christian Eriksen’s Name Ahead Of Wales Game | GMB
  • How Countries Are Testing Carbon Restrictions | Net Zero
  • In This Story: Germany

    Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany, is a country in Central and Western Europe. It lies between the Baltic and North seas to the north, and the Alps to the south.

    Germany is a federal parliamentary republic led by a chancellor. With over 83 million inhabitants of its 16 constituent states, it is the second-most populous country in Europe after Russia, as well as the most populous member state of the European Union. Its capital and largest city is Berlin, and its financial centre is Frankfurt; the largest urban area is the Ruhr.

    5 Recent Items: Germany

  • EU Rejects Merkel-Macron Call for Talks With Putin
  • EU Summit: Disagreements on Hungary and Russia reveal rifts in the EU | DW News
  • Germany calls for Europe to force Brits to quarantine as UK government opens travel
  • Moscow supports Franco-German call for EU-Russia summit
  • France, Germany suggest summit to reset Kremlin ties
  • Leave a Comment