UK to face ‘consequences’ on residency offers to Hong Kong citizens, China says

China warns countries to stay out of domestic affairs, after Australia said it was actively considering offering safe haven to Hong Kong residents and the UK announced it could offer residency to Hong Kong citizens, as Beijing Parliament approved the controversial new “security law” for Hong Kong on Tuesday. In the following day, hundreds of arrests were made in the territory as protests were held to mark the 23rd anniversary of the handover from British to Chinese rule.

Subscribe to France 24 now:

FRANCE 24 live news stream: all the latest news 24/7

Visit our website:

Subscribe to our YouTube channel:

Like us on Facebook:

Follow us on Twitter:

In This Story: Australia

Australia, officially known as the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world’s sixth-largest country by total area.

7 Recent Items: Australia

  • Jacinda Ardern expresses concern to China over Australian soldier image
  • Grain harvest tipped to be second biggest on record, as China trade tensions escalate | ABC News
  • More COVID restrictions to be lifted in time for Christmas in New South Wales | 7NEWS
  • Major train timetable shakeup for Melbourne | 7NEWS
  • More than 5 million Greater Sydney residents welcome again into Queensland | 7NEWS
  • Borders open to Victoria | 7NEWS
  • The new device that can detect oncoming asthma attacks early | 7NEWS
  • In This Story: Hong Kong

    Hong Kong, officially the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China (HKSAR), is a metropolitan area and special administrative region of the People’s Republic of China on the eastern Pearl River Delta of the South China Sea. With over 7.5 million residents of various nationalities in a 1,104-square-kilometre (426 sq mi) territory, Hong Kong is one of the most densely populated places in the world.

    Hong Kong became a colony of the British Empire after the Qing Empire ceded Hong Kong Island at the end of the First Opium War in 1842. The colony expanded to the Kowloon Peninsula in 1860 after the Second Opium War and was further extended when Britain obtained a 99-year lease of the New Territories in 1898. The whole territory was transferred to China in 1997. As a special administrative region, Hong Kong maintains separate governing and economic systems from that of mainland China under the principle of “one country, two systems”.

    3 Recent Items: Hong Kong

  • China’s Fight With Australia Risks Backfiring as Biden Era Nears
  • Hong Kong Tightens Gatherings, Sends Civil Servants Home
  • Coronavirus case numbers soar back to alarming levels in Hong Kong and East Asia
  • Leave a Comment