Stranded Kiribati workers share cultural song and dance with Tasmanian community | ABC News

About This Source - ABC News (Australia)

The video item below is from ABC News (Australia). ABC News is a public news service in Australia produced by the News and Current Affairs division of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

Recent from ABC News (Australia):

  • First person charged under Hong Kong’s national security law found guilty of terrorism | The World
  • Macron talks climate change & China during first official trip to French Polynesia | The World
  • Last Saturday’s ‘freedom protests’ left many Australians feeling shocked and frustrated | ABC News
  • ABC News (Australia) published this video item, entitled “Stranded Kiribati workers share cultural song and dance with Tasmanian community | ABC News” – below is their description.

    The Forth hall in northern Tasmania was thumping to the sound of Pacific music recently as the local community joined a group of Kiribati workers in sharing music and dancing.

    ABC News (Australia) YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Kiribati

    Kiribati, officially the Republic of Kiribati, is an independent country in the central Pacific Ocean. The permanent population is just over 110,000, more than half of whom live on Tarawa atoll. The state comprises 32 atolls and one raised coral island, Banaba.

    Their spread straddles the equator and the 180th meridian, although the International Date Line goes round Kiribati and swings far to the east, almost reaching the 150° W meridian. This brings Kiribati’s easternmost islands, the southern Line Islands south of Hawaii, into the same day as the Gilbert Islands and places them in the most advanced time zone on Earth: UTC+14.

    Kiribati is the only country in the world to be situated in all four hemispheres.

    Kiribati gained its independence from the United Kingdom, becoming a sovereign state in 1979. The capital is South Tarawa. Kiribati is a member of the Pacific Community (SPC), Commonwealth of Nations, the IMF, and the World Bank, and became a full member of the United Nations in 1999.

    3 Recent Items: Kiribati

  • Sailors stranded in Germany after borders closed due to Covid – BBC News
  • Pacific Islands Forum in disarray after Micronesian nations quit peak regional body | The World
  • Pacific Update: Anger over suggestions Hindus in Fiji shouldn’t celebrate Diwali with fireworks
  • In This Story: Pacific

    The Pacific Ocean is the largest and deepest of Earth’s oceanic divisions. It extends from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the Southern Ocean in the south and is bounded by the continents of Asia and Australia in the west and the Americas in the east

    2 Recent Items: Pacific

  • In French Polynesia, Macron tackles nuclear test legacy, China dominance • FRANCE 24 English
  • COVID infections soar as Delta variant tears through Asia-Pacific region
  • In This Story: Tasmania

    Tasmania is an island state of Australia. It is located 240 km to the south of the Australian mainland, separated by Bass Strait. The state encompasses the main island of Tasmania, the 26th-largest island in the world, and the surrounding 334 islands.

    2 Recent Items: Tasmania

  • This football club gets flogged every week, but players won’t let it die without a fight | ABC News
  • Master plan in place to make Tasmania’s Ben Lomond year-round destination | ABC News
  • Leave a Comment