Sanctions Committee on DPR Korea – Security Council Media Stakeout (17 November 2020)

About This Source - United Nations

The United Nations (UN) was established after World War II with the aim of preventing future wars. The organization is financed by assessed and voluntary contributions from its member states.

The UN’s chief administrative officer is the Secretary-General, currently Portuguese politician and diplomat António Guterres, who began his five year-term on 1 January 2017.


Recent from United Nations:

  • Libya, Mali, Dr. Martin Luther King Day & other topics – Daily Briefing (18 January 2021)
  • Multiple factors driving transmission risk: WHO Chief- COVID-19 Update (15 January 2021)
  • Latest on Libya by UNSMIL Chef (Geneva, 16 January 2021)
  • United Nations published this video item, entitled “Sanctions Committee on DPR Korea – Security Council Media Stakeout (17 November 2020)” – below is their description.

    Informal comments to the media by Christoph Heusgen, Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations, on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea. Speaking in his role of the Chair of the DPRK Sanctions Committee, German ambassador to the UN Christoph Heusgen told reporters on Tuesday that “Russia and China have been stalling the process” of agreeing on barrels-to-tons conversion rates which as consequence “undermines Council’s decision to place a cap on the oil export” to North Korea.. “For the DPRK sanctions regime to be effective, all Member States must abide by these resolutions and the sanctions in the resolution, and this includes the obligation to notify the Sanctions Committee of experts of petroleum to the DPRK in the unit of barrels,” said Christoph Heusgen, Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations. “Russia and China have so far refrained from reporting in barrels, they report in tons,” sad Heusgen adding that “despite numerous attempts, the issue has been on the agenda for no less than three years to find an agreement on a conversion rate” which in turn prevents the UN from conclusively determining “whether the cap has been reached.” “Russia and China have been stalling the process,” German ambassador said. “This damages the credibility of the Sanctions Committee and the Council.” He has reportedly raised the issue again at the closed-door meeting of the Council earlier on Tuesday (17 Nov) and while according to Heusgen, “there was broad support for the Chair of the Sanctions Committee,” to finally resolve the issue, “both China and Russia are still stalling today.” Heusgen explained that in his role of the Chair of the Sanctions Committee, he has “worked closely with both delegations to find a compromise.” However, he added, “while this shouldn’t be a complicated matter to solve it has become clear that the two delegations are politicizing this topic.” The Security Council’s Committee was established on 14 October 2006 pursuant to its resolution 1718 to oversee the relevant sanctions measures relating to the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK). It comprises all 15 members of the Security Council and makes its decisions by consensus. The German ambassador Christoph Heusgen is the current Chair of the Committee, serving through 31 December 2020 is. The two Vice-Chairs for 2020 are Estonia and Tunisia. The Committee prepares annual reports of its activities. Screenshot Credit: UN Photo/Manuel Elías

    United Nations YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Estonia

    Estonia, a country in Northern Europe, borders the Baltic Sea and Gulf of Finland. Including more than 1,500 islands, its diverse terrain spans rocky beaches, old-growth forest and many lakes. Formerly part of the Soviet Union, it’s dotted with castles, churches and hilltop fortresses. The capital, Tallinn, is known for its preserved Old Town, museums and the 314m-high Tallinn TV Tower, which has an observation deck.

    2 Recent Items: Estonia

  • Germany, Belgium, Dominican Republic, Estonia, France, UK, USA & Japan on DPR Korea
  • European Union on Chemical Weapons in Syria – Media Stakeout (11 December 2020)
  • In This Story: Germany

    Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany, is a country in Central and Western Europe. It lies between the Baltic and North seas to the north, and the Alps to the south.

    Germany is a federal parliamentary republic led by a chancellor. With over 83 million inhabitants of its 16 constituent states, it is the second-most populous country in Europe after Russia, as well as the most populous member state of the European Union. Its capital and largest city is Berlin, and its financial centre is Frankfurt; the largest urban area is the Ruhr.

    5 Recent Items: Germany

  • Russian Court Orders Alexey Navalny Jailed for 30 Days, Defying U.S. And European Calls to Free Him
  • Is Russian President Putin afraid of Navalny? | Inside Story
  • Putin critic Navalny condemns “lawlessness” of court hearing after his arrest in Russia
  • Navalny returns to Russia: Court hearing on detention underway
  • Kremlin critic Navalny detained after landing in Moscow
  • In This Story: North Korea

    North Korea, officially the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, is a country in East Asia constituting the northern part of the Korean Peninsula.

    Pyongyang is the country’s capital and largest city.

    4 Recent Items: North Korea

  • Kim Jong Un Gives Sneak Peek of North Korea Missiles at Military Parade
  • North Korea’s Kim Jong Un Rolls Out Submarine-Launched Ballistic Missile
  • North Korea shows off new submarine-launched missile – BBC News
  • Kim Jong Un Attends North Korea Military Parade in Pyongyang
  • In This Story: Russia

    Russia, or the Russian Federation, is a transcontinental country located in Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. It extends from the Baltic Sea in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east, and from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea in the south.

    Russia spans more than one-eighth of the Earth’s inhabited land area, stretching eleven time zones, and bordering 16 sovereign nations. Moscow is the country’s capital.

    The Soviet Union was dissolved in 1991 and since 1993 Russia been governed as a federal semi-presidential republic. Russia is a major great power, with the world’s second-most powerful military, and the fourth-highest military expenditure. As a recognised nuclear-weapon state, the country possesses the world’s largest stockpile of nuclear weapons.

    3 Recent Items: Russia

  • Navalny urges Russians to ‘take to the streets’ over jailing
  • Is Russian President Putin afraid of Navalny? | Inside Story
  • Putin critic Navalny condemns “lawlessness” of court hearing after his arrest in Russia
  • In This Story: Tunisia

    Tunisia, officially the Republic of Tunisia, is a country in the Maghreb region of North Africa, covering 163,610 square kilometres. Its northernmost point, Cape Angela, is also the northernmost point on the African continent.

    2 Recent Items: Tunisia

  • Tunisia arrests over 600, deploys troops after riots
  • Police fire tear gas at protesters breaching COVID lockdown in Tunisia
  • Leave a Comment