Pope rejects German cardinal’s departure over abuse scandal | DW News

About This Source - DW News

DW News is a global English-language news and information channel from German public international broadcaster Deutsche Welle, established in summer 2015.

Recent from DW News:

  • New Israeli coalition: who are Bennett and Lapid (in their own words)? | Conflict Zone Files
  • New Israeli coalition: who are Bennett and Lapid (in their own words)? | Conflict Zone Files
  • Pope rejects German cardinal’s departure over abuse scandal | DW News
  • DW News published this video item, entitled “Pope rejects German cardinal’s departure over abuse scandal | DW News” – below is their description.

    Pope Francis said that he rejected the offer of resignation from the Archbishop of Munich Cardinal Reinhard Marx in a letter published by the Vatican on Thursday.

    Marx had told the pope he would step down amid the sexual abuse crisis that has plagued the Catholic Church in recent years. Marx has not been accused of sexual abuse himself, but called it a “matter of sharing responsibility.” The Catholic Church in Germany has been shaken by a barrage of allegations that members of the clergy have carried out wide-ranging abuse against minors for years.

    The pope said that it was up to every bishop, not just Marx, to take responsibility for the “catastrophe” of the abuse crisis. “Continue as you propose (in your pastoral work) but as Archbishop of Munich and Freising,” the pope wrote to Marx, referring to the position he was offering to vacate.

    While the pope refused to accept Marx’s resignation, he agreed that it was necessary to introduce a reform “that doesn’t consist in words but attitudes that have the courage of putting oneself in crisis, of assuming reality regardless of the consequences.” “The entire Church is in crisis because of the abuse issue” and “the Church cannot proceed without tackling this crisis. The policy of burying the head in the sand leads nowhere,” Pope Francis wrote.

    DW News YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Germany

    Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany, is a country in Central and Western Europe. It lies between the Baltic and North seas to the north, and the Alps to the south.

    Germany is a federal parliamentary republic led by a chancellor. With over 83 million inhabitants of its 16 constituent states, it is the second-most populous country in Europe after Russia, as well as the most populous member state of the European Union. Its capital and largest city is Berlin, and its financial centre is Frankfurt; the largest urban area is the Ruhr.

    5 Recent Items: Germany

  • Pope rejects German cardinal’s departure over abuse scandal | DW News
  • Netherlands opera performers send anti-deforestation message
  • G7 Summit: Cornwall on alert as world leaders arrive
  • Biden on his first overseas visit for G7 summit
  • Germany rejects reparations call as Namibian MPs slam genocide deal
  • In This Story: Vatican

    Vatican City, officially the Vatican City State, is the Holy See’s independent city state, an enclave within Rome, Italy. The Vatican City State, also known as The Vatican, became independent from Italy with the Lateran Treaty (1929), and it is a distinct territory under “full ownership, exclusive dominion, and sovereign authority and jurisdiction” of the Holy See, itself a sovereign entity of international law, which maintains the city state’s temporal, diplomatic, and spiritual independence. With an area of 49 hectares (121 acres) and a population of about 825, it is the smallest sovereign state in the world by both area and population.

    As governed by the Holy See, the Vatican City State is an ecclesiastical or sacerdotal-monarchical state (a type of theocracy) ruled by the pope who is the bishop of Rome and head of the Catholic Church. The highest state functionaries are all Catholic clergy of various national origins. After the Avignon Papacy (1309–1437), the popes have mainly resided at the Apostolic Palace within what is now Vatican City, although at times residing instead in the Quirinal Palace in Rome or elsewhere.

    Within the Vatican City are religious and cultural sites such as St. Peter’s Basilica, the Sistine Chapel, and the Vatican Museums. They feature some of the world’s most famous paintings and sculptures. The unique economy of Vatican City is supported financially by donations from the faithful, by the sale of postage stamps and souvenirs, fees for admission to museums, and sales of publications.

    2 Recent Items: Vatican

  • Pope rejects German cardinal’s departure over abuse scandal | DW News
  • Former AFN chief wants full apology from Pope Francis
  • Leave a Comment