Police station in South Sudan is named after Chinese peacekeeper

About This Source - CGTN

This story is an English language news item from CGTN. CGTN is a Chinese state-funded broadcaster.

Recent from CGTN:

  • Live: Hebei officials share the latest on COVID-19 prevention and control
  • Quarantined Australian Open players train in hotel rooms
  • California halts Moderna vaccine batch after severe allergies
  • CGTN published this video item, entitled “Police station in South Sudan is named after Chinese peacekeeper” – below is their description.

    For more: https://www.cgtn.com/video A police station in South Sudan has been co-named after a Chinese peacekeeping police officer after he donated money to help rebuild it. A senior UN official said it is not only in the name of Sun Dongxing, but also the United Nations. #UN75

    CGTN YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: South Sudan

    South Sudan, is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa.

    It gained independence from the Republic of the Sudan in 2011, making it the most recent sovereign state or country with widespread recognition. Its capital and largest city is Juba.

    It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr al Jabal meaning “Mountain Sea”.

    South Sudan has a population of 12 million, mostly of the Nilotic peoples, and it is demographically among the youngest nations in the world, with roughly half under 18 years old. The majority of inhabitants adhere to Christianity or various traditional faiths.

    3 Recent Items: South Sudan

  • Has the world ignored South Sudan? | Inside Story
  • Pope Francis calls for vaccine sharing in Christmas message
  • Central African Republic Peacekeeping & other topics – Daily Briefing (24 December 2020)
  • In This Story: Sudan

    The Sudan, officially the Republic of the Sudan, is a country in Northeast Africa. It is bordered by Egypt to the north, Libya to the northwest, Chad to the west, the Central African Republic to the southwest, South Sudan to the south, Ethiopia to the southeast, Eritrea to the east, and the Red Sea to the northeast.

    Sudan’s history goes back to the Pharaonic period. Independence from the British was proclaimed on 1 January 1956.

    Islam was Sudan’s state religion and Islamic laws applied from 1983 until 2020 when the country became a secular state. The economy has been described as lower-middle income and relies on oil production. Sudan is a member of the United Nations, the Arab League, African Union, COMESA, Non-Aligned Movement and the Organisation of Islamic Co-operation.

    3 Recent Items: Sudan

  • What’s reigniting a border dispute between Ethiopia & Sudan?
  • Sudan: Historic Darfur peacekeeping mission ends
  • Darfur: UNAMID peacekeeper withdrawal sparks safety fears
  • Leave a Comment