Libya Sanctions Committee Chair (Germany) on Libya – Media Stakeout (28 July 2020)

Informal comments to the media by Günter Sautter, Deputy Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations and Chair of the Libya Sanctions Committee, following the Council’s closed consultations on the situation in Libya.

In This Story: Germany

Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany, is a country in Central and Western Europe. It lies between the Baltic and North seas to the north, and the Alps to the south.

Germany is a federal parliamentary republic led by a chancellor. With over 83 million inhabitants of its 16 constituent states, it is the second-most populous country in Europe after Russia, as well as the most populous member state of the European Union. Its capital and largest city is Berlin, and its financial centre is Frankfurt; the largest urban area is the Ruhr.

5 Recent Items: Germany

  • Rivals vying to succeed Angela Merkel square off in Germany | DW News
  • Germany’s far-right, anti-migrant AfD calls for end to Covid-19 restrictions
  • German model train breaks musical world record
  • Germany’s far-right AfD holds party convention in Dresden | DW News
  • Germany’s far-right AfD holds party convention in Dresden | DW News
  • In This Story: Libya

    Libya, officially the State of Libya, is a country in the Maghreb region in North Africa, bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Egypt to the east, Sudan to the southeast, Chad to the south, Niger to the southwest, Algeria to the west, and Tunisia to the northwest.

    The sovereign state is made of three historical regions: Tripolitania, Fezzan and Cyrenaica. The largest city and capital, Tripoli, is located in western Libya and contains over three million of Libya’s seven million people. The second-largest city is Benghazi, which is located in eastern Libya.

    Libya became independent as a kingdom in 1951. A military coup in 1969 overthrew King Idris I. Parts of Libya are currently split between rival Tobruk and Tripoli-based governments, as well as various tribal and Islamist militias.

    Libya is a member of the United Nations (since 1955), the Non-Aligned Movement, the Arab League, the OIC and OPEC. The country’s official religion is Islam, with 96.6% of the Libyan population being Sunni Muslims.

    2 Recent Items: Libya

  • Foreign policy analyst, former Miss New Jersey on Xinjiang & U.S. propaganda
  • Reflection on Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda & other topics – Daily Briefing (7 April 2021)
  • Leave a Comment