Formula 1 2011: Australian Grand Prix Results

Here are the results of the 2011 Australian Grand Prix which saw Sebastian Vettel triumph for RBR-Renault. The German finished in a time of one hour and twenty six minutes at Albert Park in Melbourne – two minutes short of the record set there in 2004 by Michael Schumacher.

Mark Webber said that he “didn’t feel comfortable” and had a lot of tyre degradation which was partly to blame for his finish in fifth. His team mate, winner Sebastian Vettel, said:

“I’m very pleased, it was a very good weekend and I had a very nice car to sit in this afternoon. It was a good race – towards the end things calmed down a bit. Lewis didn’t push as hard, so we tried to control the last part of the race. I don’t think it was easy today.

“The start was crucial and being on the clean side I had a very good getaway. I didn’t know if it was enough, but then I saw Lewis and Mark battling for position. I got a cushion on lap one and we tried to hold the gap for the first stint. When the tyres went off, Lewis caught up and we came in. I think it was the right time, as I couldn’t have done more laps.

“After my first stop it was crucial to get past Jenson, which I did. That was important. In the second part of the race I didn’t know what was gong on behind Lewis, if he was under pressure or not, but towards the end of the race I could control it more. We learned a lot of things today. It’s good coming here after a long winter and setting the pace.”


Pos Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid Pts
1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 58 1:29:30.259 1 25
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 58 +22.2 secs 2 18
3 Vitaly Petrov Renault 58 +30.5 secs 6 15
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 58 +31.7 secs 5 12
5 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 58 +38.1 secs 3 10
6 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 58 +54.3 secs 4 8
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 58 +85.1 secs 8 6
8 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 57 +1 Lap 10 4
9 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 57 +1 Lap 16 2
10 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 57 +1 Lap 14 1
11 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 57 +1 Lap 12
12 Nick Heidfeld Renault 57 +1 Lap 18
13 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 56 +2 Laps 20
14 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 54 +4 Laps 22
NC Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 49 +9 Laps 21
DSQ Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 58 +65.8 secs 13
DSQ Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 58 +76.8 secs 9
Ret Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 48 Transmission 17
Ret Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 22 Accident damage 7
Ret Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 19 Water leak 19
Ret Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 19 Puncture damage 11
Ret Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 9 Transmission 15


Leave a Comment

We don't require your email address, or your name, for anyone to leave a comment. If you do add an email address, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment - we won't use it for any other purpose. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Links are not allowed in comments - 99% of spam comments, attempt to post links. Please describe where people may find additional information - for example "visit the UN website" or "search Google for..." rather than posting a link. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.