Danish parliament approves law to deport asylum seekers

About This Source - Al Jazeera English

The video item below is a piece of English language content from Al Jazeera. Al Jazeera is a Qatari state-funded broadcaster based in Doha, Qatar, owned by the Al Jazeera Media Network.

Recent from Al Jazeera English:

  • Bonus edition: Ethiopia, BLM-Palestine, Tulsa | The Stream
  • Is this the end of Netanyahu’s 12-year stint as Israeli PM? | Inside Story
  • Myanmar coup: Young people join ranks of rebel fighters
  • Al Jazeera English published this video item, entitled “Danish parliament approves law to deport asylum seekers” – below is their description.

    Denmark’s parliament has voted to establish a refugee reception centre in a third country, possibly Rwanda, where it has previously pledged support for a refugee camp.

    Politicians who voted for the bill say it will deter asylum seekers from crossing the Mediterranean Sea when they may be rejected anyway.

    The European Commission and the United Nations have criticised the plan.

    Al Jazeera’s Charlotte Bellis has more.

    Al Jazeera English YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Denmark

    Denmark, officially the Kingdom of Denmark, is a Nordic country in Northern Europe.  The capital is Copenhagen. Denmark proper, consists of a peninsula, Jutland, and an archipelago of 443 islands.

    The Kingdom of Denmark comprises Denmark proper and the two autonomous territories in the North Atlantic Ocean: the Faroe Islands and Greenland. Home rule was established in the Faroe Islands in 1948; in Greenland home rule was established in 1979 and further autonomy in 2009.

    Denmark has highly developed mixed economy. Denmark became a member of the European Economic Community (now the EU) in 1973, but negotiated certain opt-outs; it retains its own currency, the krone. It is among the founding members of NATO, the Nordic Council, the OECD, OSCE, and the United Nations; it is also part of the Schengen Area. Denmark has close linguistic ties to its Scandinavian neighbours.

    2 Recent Items: Denmark

  • Law to send asylum seekers out of EU passed in Denmark
  • Danish aid in U.S. spying: Impact on EU-U.S. ties
  • In This Story: Mediterranean

    The Mediterranean Sea is a sea connected to the Atlantic Ocean, surrounded by the Mediterranean Basin and almost completely enclosed by land: on the north by Southern Europe and Anatolia, on the south by North Africa, and on the east by the Levant.

    2 Recent Items: Mediterranean

  • Turkey’s Erdogan, Greece’s Mitsotakis ‘to meet at NATO summit’
  • Africa Dialogue, Myanmar, Syria & other topics – Daily Briefing (26 May 2021)
  • In This Story: Rwanda

    Rwanda, officially the Republic of Rwanda, is a landlocked country in the Great Rift Valley where the African Great Lakes region and East Africa converge. One of the smallest countries on the African mainland, its capital city is Kigali.

    2 Recent Items: Rwanda

  • Filmmaker Amandine Gay and the politics of international adoption
  • Volcano eruption evacuees receive emergency aid in DRC and Rwanda
  • Leave a Comment