Coalition calls for boycott of Beijing Olympics

CBC News published this video item, entitled “Coalition calls for boycott of Beijing Olympics” – below is their description.

A coalition of 180 human rights groups is urging governments to boycott the 2022 Beijing Olympics because of reported Chinese human rights infringements. But Dick Pound, a Canadian member of the International Olympic Committee, says a boycott would hurt Canadian athletes. Watch CBC News Live with Vassy Kapelos 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. NT and Power & Politics at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. NT weeknights on CBC News Network and CBC Gem.

To read more: http://cbc.ca/1.5900137

CBC News YouTube Channel

Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

About This Source - CBC News

CBC News is the division of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation responsible for the news gathering and production of news programs on the corporation’s English-language operations, namely CBC Television, CBC Radio, CBC News Network, and CBC.ca.

CBC News is the largest news broadcaster in Canada. It frequently collaborates with its French-language counterpart, Radio-Canada Info, although the two are organizationally separate.

Recent from CBC News:

  • What 4 undecided voters asked Annamie Paul | Face to Face 2021
  • Edmonton ICUs filling up with young, very sick patients, says doctor
  • Alberta to launch proof-of-vaccination program, declares health emergency
  • In This Story: Beijing

    Beijing, China’s sprawling capital, has history stretching back 3 millennia. Yet it’s known as much for modern architecture as its ancient sites such as the grand Forbidden City complex, the imperial palace during the Ming and Qing dynasties.

    2 Recent Items: Beijing

  • Titanic challenges after a month since Taliban takeover
  • ‘Threat to regional stability’: China slams Australia-UK-U.S. nuke submarine pact
  • Leave a Comment

    We don't require your email address now, just your name. BUT, if you do add it, you may be notified if there are replies to your comment. Please make respectful comments, which add value, and avoid personal attacks on others. Comments failing to adhere to these guidelines will not be published.