Belarus: Protesters leak police force data | DW News

About This Source - DW News

DW News is a global English-language news and information channel from German public international broadcaster Deutsche Welle, established in summer 2015.

Recent from DW News:

  • COVID lockdown exit strategies | COVID-19 Special
  • Myanmar faces new sanctions over military coup | DW News
  • NASA releases first video of it’s Mars rover landing | DW News
  • DW News published this video item, entitled “Belarus: Protesters leak police force data | DW News” – below is their description.

    Tens of thousands of protesters, once again, took to the streets in Belarusian capital city Minsk on Sunday, demanding an end to President Alexander Lukashenko’s rule. Hundreds of police and army were out in force to try and stop the so-called March of Justice going ahead. Late in the day, uniformed men in balaclavas began arresting demonstrators and more than 100 people were detained, according to rights group Viasna. It said at least 80 were arrested in the capital Minsk, with at least 47 people held elsewhere in the country. Authorities had closed metro stations in Minsk and mobile internet services were down in an attempt to stop the demonstrators. In response to the latest escalation of violence, an online messaging channel with more than two million subscribers published a list of names, birthdays and addresses of more than 1000 police officers. Belarus opposition leader Svetlana Tikhanovskaya is holding talks with EU foreign ministers in Brussels – as the EU prepares sanctions against the Belarusian government. The bloc has a list of around 40 Belarusian officials who it blames for abuses of power against ongoing anti-government protests, as well as electoral fraud in last month’s disputed elections. But the sanctions have so far been held up by Cyprus – which is demanding the EU take measures against Turkey in a separate dispute. Earlier German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas called for the bloc to discuss imposing sanctions on Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenko himself.

    DW News YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Alexander Lukashenko

    Alexander Grigoryevich Lukashenko or Alyaksandr Ryhoravich Lukashenka is a Belarusian politician, who has served as president of Belarus since the establishment of the office 26 years ago, on 20 July 1994.

    6 Recent Items: Alexander Lukashenko

  • Putin and Lukashenko go skiing
  • Putin takes Belarus president Lukashenko skiing in Sochi
  • Two journalists imprisoned after Belarus coverage
  • ‘Europe’s last dictatorship’ – police raid journalists’ homes
  • Inside Belarus: Lukashenko says he will step down when opposition protests end
  • Belarus president, leader since 1994, says he has too much power
  • In This Story: Belarus

    Belarus, officially the Republic of Belarus and formerly known as Byelorussia or Belorussia, is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe. It is bordered by Russia to the northeast, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest. Its capital and most populous city is Minsk.

    5 Recent Items: Belarus

  • The journalists jailed in Belarus as post-election crackdown continues
  • Putin takes Belarus president Lukashenko skiing in Sochi
  • Belarus receives COVID-19 vaccines donated by China
  • Belarus crackdown: TV journalists jailed for two years over protest coverage
  • Belarus imprisons two journalists for covering anti-Lukashenko protests
  • In This Story: Cyprus

    Cyprus, officially called the Republic of Cyprus, is an island country in the Eastern Mediterranean.

    The Republic of Cyprus is de facto partitioned into two main parts: the area under the effective control of the Republic, located in the south and west and comprising about 59% of the island’s area, and the north, administered by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, covering about 36% of the island’s area. Another nearly 4% of the island’s area is covered by a UN buffer zone.

    The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, remain under the UK’s control according to the London and Zürich Agreements.

    The Republic of Cyprus has been a member of the Commonwealth since 1961 and joined the European Union on 1 May 2004.

    2 Recent Items: Cyprus

  • Turkey Says Two-State Solution Is the Only Option for Divided Cyprus
  • Game Developer Nexters Goes Public in $1.9B SPAC
  • In This Story: EU

    The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. Its members have a combined area of 4,233,255.3 km² and an estimated total population of about 447 million.

    7 Recent Items: EU

  • Myanmar Coup: Anti-Military Protesters Sing, Chant and Clap in Yangon
  • Can Biden cool tensions with Iran? | The Stream
  • Myanmar faces new sanctions over military coup | DW News
  • Should Hungary and Poland be EU Member States?: CELS Webinar
  • Challenges for the Law Post Brexit: CELS Webinar
  • EU to sanction four Russians over Navalny
  • U.S. Sanctions Officials in Myanmar’s Military Leadership
  • In This Story: Turkey

    Turkey, officially the Republic of Turkey, is a transcontinental country located mainly on the Anatolian Peninsula in Western Asia, with a smaller portion on the Balkan Peninsula in Southeastern Europe.

    Istanbul, which straddles Europe and Asia, is the country’s largest city, while Ankara is the capital. The majority of the population identifies as Turkish, around 20% identify as Kurdish.

    3 Recent Items: Turkey

  • How did QATAR win the SANCTIONS WAR with the UAE and SAUDI ARABIA? – VisualPolitik EN
  • China delivers vaccines to seven countries during Chinese New Year
  • Doctors in Turkey battle suspicions over Covid-19 vaccines in remote communities
  • Leave a Comment