Australia steps up Hong Kong action in wake of China security law

Diplomatic tensions between Australia and China are escalating after Canberra suspended its extradition treaty with Hong Kong.
The decision comes in the wake of Beijing imposing a controversial new security law on the territory.
Australia is also extending visas for Hong Kong students and workers – a move that has angered its biggest trade partner.
Al Jazeera’s Nicola Gage reports from Sydney, Australia.

– Subscribe to our channel:
– Follow us on Twitter:
– Find us on Facebook:
– Check our website:

#AlJazeeraEnglish #China #HongKong #Australia

In This Story: Australia

Australia, officially known as the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world’s sixth-largest country by total area.

7 Recent Items: Australia

  • Teen killed in tragic crash in the Adelaide Hills | 7NEWS
  • Smith advances Aussie lead until undone by Gabba tricks | Vodafone Test Series 2020-21
  • Siraj shoulders load to seal emotional maiden five-fer | Vodafone Test Series 2020-21
  • Fire comes dangerously close to homes in Adelaide’s south | 7NEWS
  • COVID Australia: SA-NSW border restrictions to remain | 7NEWS
  • NSW businesses encouraged to sign up for dining voucher program | 7NEWS
  • Rowville teacher remembered as a selfless hero | 7NEWS
  • In This Story: Beijing

    Beijing, China’s sprawling capital, has history stretching back 3 millennia. Yet it’s known as much for modern architecture as its ancient sites such as the grand Forbidden City complex, the imperial palace during the Ming and Qing dynasties.

    2 Recent Items: Beijing

  • Thousands protest in Amsterdam against lockdown
  • Over 1.6 million inoculated against COVID-19 in Beijing
  • In This Story: Hong Kong

    Hong Kong, officially the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China (HKSAR), is a metropolitan area and special administrative region of the People’s Republic of China on the eastern Pearl River Delta of the South China Sea. With over 7.5 million residents of various nationalities in a 1,104-square-kilometre (426 sq mi) territory, Hong Kong is one of the most densely populated places in the world.

    Hong Kong became a colony of the British Empire after the Qing Empire ceded Hong Kong Island at the end of the First Opium War in 1842. The colony expanded to the Kowloon Peninsula in 1860 after the Second Opium War and was further extended when Britain obtained a 99-year lease of the New Territories in 1898. The whole territory was transferred to China in 1997. As a special administrative region, Hong Kong maintains separate governing and economic systems from that of mainland China under the principle of “one country, two systems”.

    3 Recent Items: Hong Kong

  • CrossFit’s China ambitions face huge hurdles despite middle-class demand for exercise options
  • DBS H.K. Sees Resumption of Normality in Second Half
  • Hong Kong wheelchair climber Lai Chi-wai attempts to scale 320-meter skyscraper
  • In This Story: Sydney

    Sydney, capital of New South Wales and one of Australia‘s largest cities, is best known for its harbourfront Sydney Opera House, with a distinctive sail-like design.

    • Population: 5.23 million (2018)

    3 Recent Items: Sydney

  • Victoria to reopen to parts of greater Sydney, 0 new cases in NSW | 9 News Australia
  • Victoria to ease restrictions with New South Wales | ABC News
  • Hoons terrorise Sydney suburbs | 7NEWS
  • Leave a Comment