Armenia-Azerbaijan conflict: President Ilham Aliyev begins truce talks as UN urges restraint

About This Source - Sky News

Sky News is a British free-to-air television news channel and organisation. Sky News is distributed via a radio news service, and through online channels. It is owned by Sky Group, a division of Comcast. John Ryley is the head of Sky News, a role he has held since June 2006.

Recent from Sky News:

  • Press Preview – A first look inside Friday’s newspapers
  • Lady Gaga offers $500,000 reward after dog walker shot and pets stolen
  • ‘It didn’t hurt at all’: Queen urges people to get COVID-19 vaccine
  • Sky News published this video item, entitled “Armenia-Azerbaijan conflict: President Ilham Aliyev begins truce talks as UN urges restraint” – below is their description.

    Russia is hosting talks with the Azeri and Armenian foreign ministers throughout the weekend, a day after France, Russia and the United States discussed the conflict at the United Nations. There are regional fears of an ongoing process without securing peace for the region as Azerbaijan is supported by Turkey, while Armenia has a defence pact with Russia so the truce talks are seen as a big compromise. Azerbaijan’s President told Sky News his country is engaged in a ‘patriotic war’ – to recapture territory it had lost in the disputed region of Nagorno-Karabakh.   Sky’s Moscow Correspondent Diana Magnay spoke to him.

    Sky News YouTube Channel

    Got a comment? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below. Please note comments are moderated before publication.

    In This Story: Azerbaijan

    Azerbaijan, the nation and former Soviet republic, is bounded by the Caspian Sea and Caucasus Mountains, which span Asia and Europe. Its capital, Baku, is famed for its medieval walled Inner City.

    5 Recent Items: Azerbaijan

  • Armenia PM accuses army of attempted coup – BBC News
  • Armenia ‘attempted coup’: Pashinyan facing backlash for concessions to Azerbaijan
  • Mass protests in Armenia reach a boiling point | DW News
  • Armenian PM slams ‘coup attempt’ as political tensions rise
  • Armenia PM warns of coup, as army demands he quit
  • In This Story: France

    France is a republic and the largest Western European nation. Through expansion and colonisation in the 17th and 18th centuries France became a great power and still retains territories around the world. It has a seat on the UN security council and is the world’s fourth most wealthy country with a high standard of living and strong cultural identity.

    6 Recent Items: France

  • Niger post election violence kills two, hundreds arrested
  • Seller’s market? The argument over EU pushback against AstraZeneca Covid vaccine
  • Insurer Axa ordered to cover restaurant’s pandemic losses
  • EU leaders vow to speed up vaccine production at Covid-19 summit
  • Passport to normality? EU leaders plot path out of pandemic
  • New normal? ‘Green Pass’ opens music concert to vaccinated Israelis
  • In This Story: Moscow

    Moscow, on the Moskva River in western Russia, is the nation’s cosmopolitan capital. In its historic core is the Kremlin, a complex that’s home to the president and tsarist treasures in the Armoury. Outside its walls is Red Square, Russia’s symbolic center. It’s home to Lenin’s Mausoleum, the State Historical Museum’s comprehensive collection and St. Basil’s Cathedral, known for its colorful, onion-shaped domes.

    2 Recent Items: Moscow

  • Experts: Former CIA agent victim of microwave weapon in Moscow
  • Putin Warns Intelligence Agency of Western Attempts to Destabilize Russia
  • In This Story: Nagorno-Karabakh

    Nagorno-Karabakh, also known as Artsakh, is a landlocked region in the South Caucasus, within the mountainous range of Karabakh, lying between Lower Karabakh and Zangezur, and covering the southeastern range of the Lesser Caucasus mountains. The region is mostly mountainous and forested.

    5 Recent Items: Nagorno-Karabakh

  • Armenia PM accuses army of attempted coup – BBC News
  • Mass protests in Armenia reach a boiling point | DW News
  • Armenian PM holds rally after army demands his resignation
  • ‘I consider what is happening to be a military coup’: Armenia PM under pressure
  • Armenia PM warns of coup attempt after army seeks his resignation
  • In This Story: Russia

    Russia, or the Russian Federation, is a transcontinental country located in Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. It extends from the Baltic Sea in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east, and from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea in the south.

    Russia spans more than one-eighth of the Earth’s inhabited land area, stretching eleven time zones, and bordering 16 sovereign nations. Moscow is the country’s capital.

    The Soviet Union was dissolved in 1991 and since 1993 Russia been governed as a federal semi-presidential republic. Russia is a major great power, with the world’s second-most powerful military, and the fourth-highest military expenditure. As a recognised nuclear-weapon state, the country possesses the world’s largest stockpile of nuclear weapons.

    3 Recent Items: Russia

  • Armenia PM warns of coup, as army demands he quit
  • Biden Prepares to Punish Russia for Breach of U.S. Government
  • Putin Warns Intelligence Agency of Western Attempts to Destabilize Russia
  • In This Story: Turkey

    Turkey, officially the Republic of Turkey, is a transcontinental country located mainly on the Anatolian Peninsula in Western Asia, with a smaller portion on the Balkan Peninsula in Southeastern Europe.

    Istanbul, which straddles Europe and Asia, is the country’s largest city, while Ankara is the capital. The majority of the population identifies as Turkish, around 20% identify as Kurdish.

    3 Recent Items: Turkey

  • Four children thrown to safety from burning building in Istanbul
  • Armenia PM warns of coup, as army demands he quit
  • ‘Smoked Turkey:’ Republican Senator Says Neera Tanden Likely Won’t Get Confirmed
  • In This Story: United States

    The United States is a country also known as the United States of America, USA, US or just America. There are fifty states in the union, which is a federal republic ruled by a representative democracy. Nearly ten million square kilometres are inhabited by over 300 million people. The majority of Americans speak English.

    4 Recent Items: United States

  • Biden Speaks With Saudi King Ahead of U.S.’s Khashoggi Report
  • WATCH: Biden, Harris participate in event commemorating 50 millionth coronavirus vaccination in U.S.
  • Buying blind: The US property hunters purchasing French homes without visiting
  • Capitol Riot Hearing Reveals Intelligence Failures, National Guard Delays
  • Leave a Comment