Home » Politics » Elections » Nepal: Communist Party Chairman, Jhala Nath Khanal, Elected as PM

Nepal: Communist Party Chairman, Jhala Nath Khanal, Elected as PM

Jhala Nath Khanal, Nepali PM

The Chairman of the Communist Party of Nepal (United Marxist Leninist) has been elected as Prime Minister following a protracted peace process which saw the disarmament of Maoist rebels and the dissolution of the Nepalese monarchy.

The votes in the legislature were as follows:

  • Jhala Nath Khanal 368
  • Ram Chandra Poudel (Nepali Congress) 122
  • Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar (Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic) 67

557 votes out of a possible 598 were cast by politicians in the Himalayan nation.

The UN ended its mandate in Nepal on January 15th 2011. Secretary General, Ban Ki Moon welcomed the developments commending the Nepalese Parliament for a “significant achievement” and all Nepali parties and leaders for their efforts to form a new government. He also urged politicians to continue efforts to fully implement outstanding commitments under the Comprehensive Peace Accord and the interim constitution, notably the integration and rehabilitation of the Maoist combatants, democratization of the army and adoption of a new constitution.

About Politics Desk

Politics Desk
Editors and staffers from the Politics Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Cannes 2017: Stars dig deep at AIDS gala dinner

Subscribe to France 24 now: http://f24.my/youtubeEN FRANCE 24 live news stream: all the latest news …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *