Home » Sport » Motorsport » Formula 1 » Lewis Hamilton Wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton Wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton has won the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at the Yas Marina race circuit. On team radio after crossing the finishing line, he said:

“Thanks guys, mega mega job as always. I want to dedicate this one to my mum, Happy Birthday.”

Alonso was a comfortable second and Button inherited third place after Webber opted for a final lap pit stop.

The final positions were as follows:

  1. Lewis Hamilton
  2. Fernando Alonso
  3. Jenson Button
  4. Mark Webber
  5. Felipe Massa

Sebastian Vettel retired early in the race with tyre puncture. Webber was caught by a poor pit stop and his team then opted for a three stop strategy, only using the hard tyres on the very last lap. Di Resta used a novel strategy of hard tyres first with only one stop. Button was without KERS until lap 32, nobly defending his position for a place on the podium.

Maldonado incurred two stewards penalties for ignoring blue flags. Likewise, Senna had to serve a drive through penalty for ignoring the blue flag, not allowing the leaders to pass.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Beijing’s 2008 Legacy Lives On in New Generation of Boxers and Shuttle | Flame Catchers

Over eight years on, we check out China boxing’s cradle, inspired by Beijing 2008, and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *