Home » Sport » Motorsport » Formula 1 » Jenson Button Wins 2011 Hungarian Grand Prix

Jenson Button Wins 2011 Hungarian Grand Prix

Jenson Button has won the Hungarian Grand Prix after a patient battle at the Hungaroring track in Eni Magyar Nagydíj. Team mate Lewis Hamilton had led the race from lap five, but lost all advantage with a spin in the rain followed by a steward’s penalty for his attempt to rejoin the race.

The Red Bull cars took double points with second and fifth place. Nick Heidfeld for Lotus Renault GP retired on lap 24 after his car caught fire just outside the pitlane. Heikki Kovalainen and Jarno Trulli for Team Lotus both had to retire with suspected water leaks.


1Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes01:46:42.3425
2Sebastian VettelRBR-Renault+3.5 secs18
3Fernando AlonsoFerrari+19.8 secs15
4Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes+48.3 secs12
5Mark WebberRBR-Renault+49.7 secs10
6Felipe MassaFerrari+83.1 secs8
7Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes+1 Lap6
8Sebastien BuemiSTR-Ferrari+1 Lap4
9Nico RosbergMercedes+1 Lap2
10Jaime AlguersuariSTR-Ferrari+1 Lap1
11Kamui KobayashiSauber-Ferrari+1 Lap
12Vitaly PetrovRenault+1 Lap
13Rubens BarrichelloWilliams-Cosworth+2 Laps
14Adrian SutilForce India-Mercedes+2 Laps
15Sergio PerezSauber-Ferrari+2 Laps
16Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Cosworth+2 Laps
17Timo GlockVirgin-Cosworth+4 Laps
18Daniel RicciardoHRT-Cosworth+4 Laps
19Jerome d’AmbrosioVirgin-Cosworth+5 Laps
20Vitantonio LiuzziHRT-Cosworth+5 Laps
RetHeikki KovalainenLotus-RenaultWater leak
RetMichael SchumacherMercedesGearbox
RetNick HeidfeldRenaultFire
RetJarno TrulliLotus-RenaultWater leak

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Speed Finals | Ice Climbing World Championship

Live from Champagny-en-Vanoise for the 2017 UIAA Ice Climbing World Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *