Home » Sport » Cricket » ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: West Indies Defeat Bangladesh by 9 Wickets

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: West Indies Defeat Bangladesh by 9 Wickets

The Bangladesh fans in Mirpur had a torrid time on 4th March 2011 as they witnessed West Indies destroy their team in Group B of ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat before the West Indies, helped by quick wickets from Sammy, Benn and Roach, quickly reduced them to the lowest score of the tournament so far: All Out for 58 in just 18.5 overs.

West Indies only lost one batsman in the 12.2 overs it took them to reach and pass the low total, which meant that West Indies won by 9 Wickets.

The three West Indian bowlers Sammy, Benn and Roach shared all of the bowling, and all of the wickets, though Benn, who brushed aside the tailenders almost single-handedly, ended with the best figures of 4 for 18 from 5.5 overs.

Only two Bangladesh batsmen achieved double figures in a forgettable performance at the crease: Siddique (25) and Ashraful (11) put on more than half of the eventual total alone, before both were removed by the bowling of in-form Roach.

When West Indies came into bat, the bulk of the 59 for 1 total was achieved by Chris Gayle, who hit 37 Not Out in a good innings. The only wicket of the innings was that of his fellow opener, Smith (6) who was bowled by Naeem Islam, who was easily the pick of the Bangladesh bowlers, with an economy rate of a touch over 2 runs an over to add to his wicket.

Bangladesh will hope for much better next time out, though the West Indies will be pleased that they have got another victory which makes qualification for the quarter final round a probability. They will be particularly pleased with Gayle’s innings, and the continued success of their three front-line bowlers.

Bangladesh v West Indies – ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Scorecard

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat.

Bangladesh 1st InningsRuns Balls 4s 6s
Tamim Iqbalc Sammyb Roach0300
Kayesc Thomasb Sammy5800
Siddiquelbwb Roach252740
Mushfiqur Rahimc Sarwanb Sammy0400
Shakibb Benn81610
Raqibul Hasanc Pollardb Sammy41700
Ashrafulc Thomasb Roach112120
Naeem Islamc Thomasb Benn1400
Shafiul Islamc Pollardb Benn0600
Razzaknot out2600
Rubel Hossainb Benn0200
Extras1nb 1w 2
Totalall out58(18.5 ovs)
West Indies BowlersO M R W
West Indies 1st InningsRuns Balls 4s 6s
Smithb Naeem Islam61210
Gaylenot out373660
DM Bravonot out92610
Extras5w 2b 7
Totalfor 159(12.2 ovs)
Bangladesh BowlersO M R W
Shafiul Islam20110
Naeem Islam61141
Rubel Hossain10120

West Indies win by 9 Wickets.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Sarah Taylor and Alex Hartley Show Us Around Lord’s Before World Cup Final – WWC 2017

Get an exclusive look at what it’s like to play at the Home of Cricket. …

One comment

  1. bangladesh team tomra good khela khelso……i am not happy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *