Home » Sport » Cricket » ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: India Defeat Ireland by 5 Wickets

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: India Defeat Ireland by 5 Wickets

Matches involving Ireland are quickly becoming some of the most exciting in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, and their match with India on Sunday 6th March 2011 at Bangalore, was no exception.

Having set a moderate total of 207 All Out from 46.5 overs, having been put in by India, Ireland bowled and fielded tightly, taking regular wickets, as India narrowly edged over the winning line with 210 for 5 wickets coming in 46 overs, meaning that India won by 5 wickets.

Irish opener, Porterfield (75) and number four Niall O’Brian (46) top scored in an otherwise disappointing top half of their batting order, which saw Stirling out first ball, bowled by Khan, and Ed Joyce (4) went four balls later to the same bowler.

But the main damage was done by the man-of-the-match, Yuvraj Singh, who collected five wickets for 31 runs from 10 overs, as well as knocking up an important 50 Not Out with the bat.

All of India’s batsmen, except opener Sehwag, who was caught and bowled Johnson with a leading edge, got a start, though only Yuvraj Singh made 50 as Ireland regularly winkled them out when they looked poised to accelerate.

However, India were never really out of their comfort zone, and took their time and patience in building a successful run chase. That being said, a couple of extra wickets for the Irish in the middle of the innings, and they could easily have picked up their second big scalp of the tournament: write off these men in green at your peril.

India now lead Group B, level on points with England, who have played (and lost) one extra match.

India v Ireland – ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Scorecard

India won the toss and elected to field.

Ireland 1st InningsRuns Balls 4s 6s
Porterfieldc Harbhajan Singhb Yuvraj Singh7510461
Stirlingb Z Khan0100
Joycec Dhonib Z Khan4510
N O’Brienrun out (Kohli)467830
Whitec Dhonib Yuvraj Singh51000
K O’Brienc and bYuvraj Singh91310
Cusacklbwb Yuvraj Singh243030
Mooneylbwb Yuvraj Singh51700
Johnstonlbwb Patel172020
Dockrellc Dhonib Z Khan31000
Rankinnot out1100
Extras6nb 8w 4lb 18
Totalall out207(47.5 ovs)

India BowlersO M R W
Z Khan91303
Harbhajan Singh91290
Yuvraj Singh100315

India 1st InningsRuns Balls 4s 6s
Sehwagc and bJohnston5310
Tendulkarlbwb Dockrell385640
Gambhirc Cusackb Johnston101520
Kohlirun out (K O’Brien)345330
Yuvraj Singhnot out507530
Dhonilbwb Dockrell345020
Pathannot out302423
Extras5w 4lb 9
Totalfor 5210(46.0 ovs)

Ireland BowlersO M R W
K O’Brien1030

India win by 5 Wickets.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Battle Of The Bowlers At Emirates Riverside – Durham v Leicestershire NatWest T20 Blast 2017

Having kept the Foxes down to 144, Durham fancied recording their first win of this …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *