Home » Sport » Motorsport » Formula 1 » Formula 1: Red Bull Celebrate as Vettel Wins 2010 World Championship at Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Formula 1: Red Bull Celebrate as Vettel Wins 2010 World Championship at Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel, of Red Bull, has become the 2010 Formula 1 World Champion in a dramatic last race of the season showdown during today’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The 23 year old German claimed the Championship by four points from Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso as the Spaniard could only manage 7th place in today’s race.

Vettel started the race on pole after a great flying lap in yesterday’s qualifying and, despite a close call with second placed Lewis Hamilton, got away to lead the race from first to last.

Having begun the day 15 points behind Alonso, the Championship leader heading into the final weekend, Vettel knew that his rival must finish outside of the first four in order for his dream of a first World Championship to become a reality. Speaking on the team radio after his win, when it was clear he had lifted the Championship, a tearful Vettel said simply “unbelievable!” and appeared to be lost for words.

In the Abu Dhabi race, Hamilton finished second and Button, last year’s champ, was third, both for McLaren, but it was Roseberg, Kubica and Petrov who would prove pivotal, as the latter two Renault men’s decision to pit during a first lap safety car ensured they would get ahead of Alonso and Webber who were fighting for the Championship between themselves.

After the chequered flag, Alonso pulled alongside Petrov and gesticulated as if to suggest he was frustrated by the Russian scuppering his chances at another World title, but, speaking after the race, was more philosophical, and said that Petrov had “driven aggressively” and that he (Alonso) would “be back next year”.

Vettel’s win means that Red Bull have secured both the Constructor’s Championship – which they claimed last week – and the Driver’s World Championship for 2010, which, given their early-season dominance, seems to be about the right conclusion.

Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2010 Result

1GerS Vettel1:39:36.837
2GBRL Hamilton1:39:46.999
3GBRJ Button1:39:47.884
4GerN Rosberg1:40:07.584
5PolR Kubica1:40:15.863
6RusV Petrov1:40:20.357
7EspF Alonso1:40:20.634
8AusM Webber1:40:21.080
9EspJ Alguersuari1:40:27.038
10BraF Massa1:40:27.705

Formula 1 Driver’s World Championship 2010 Final Standings

1Sebastian VettelGerRed Bull-Renault256
2Fernando AlonsoSpaFerrari252
3Mark WebberAusRed Bull-Renault242
4Lewis HamiltonGBMcLaren-Mercedes240
5Jenson ButtonGBMcLaren-Mercedes214
6Felipe MassaBrzFerrari144
7Nico RosbergGerMercedes GP142
8Robert KubicaPolRenault136
9Michael SchumacherGerMercedes GP72
10Rubens BarrichelloBrzWilliams-Cosworth47
11Adrian SutilGerForce India-Mercedes47
12Kamui KobayashiJpnBMW Sauber-Ferrari32
13Vitaly PetrovRusRenault27
14Nico HulkenbergGerWilliams-Cosworth22
15Vitantonio LiuzziItaForce India-Mercedes21
16Sebastien BuemiSwiToro Rosso-Ferrari8
17Pedro de la RosaSpaBMW Sauber-Ferrari6
18Nick HeidfeldGerBMW Sauber-Ferrari6
19Jaime AlguersuariSpaToro Rosso-Ferrari5
20Heikki KovalainenFinLotus-Cosworth0
21Jarno TrulliItaLotus-Cosworth0
22Bruno SennaBrzHispania-Cosworth0
23Lucas di GrassiBrzVirgin-Cosworth0
24Karun ChandhokIndHispania-Cosworth0
25Timo GlockGerVirgin-Cosworth0
26Sakon YamamotoJpnHispania-Cosworth0
27Christian KlienAutHispania-Cosworth0

About Robin Scott

Robin Scott
Robin Scott is co-founder and publisher of The Global Herald.

Check Also

Speed Finals | Ice Climbing World Championship

Live from Champagny-en-Vanoise for the 2017 UIAA Ice Climbing World Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *