Home » Sport » Motorsport » Formula 1 » Formula 1: Raikkonen Takes First Ferrari Win of 2009 in Belgian Grand Prix

Formula 1: Raikkonen Takes First Ferrari Win of 2009 in Belgian Grand Prix

Championship Leader Jenson Button Retired at the Start of the Belgian Grand Prix
Championship Leader Jenson Button Retired at the Start of the Belgian Grand Prix

Fin, Kimi Raikkonen, in the red of Ferrari, won his – and Ferrari’s – first Formula 1 Grand Prix since 2008 in lifting the Belgian Grand Prix by under 1 second from Giancarlo Fisichella of Force India.

The Italian, Fisichella, secured Force India’s best ever finishing position with an excellent drive, during which his pace was oft better than that of the Ferrari man in front, however, the team in Red managed to produce when required in every pit stop to maintain their lead and announce their arrival back at the head of Formula One.

Championship leader, Brit Jenson Button once again had a difficult time as he crashed out at the start of the race. He remains at the head of the drivers championship, however, after yet another set of new names at the head of the podium.

Sebastian Vettel chipped yet more points off Button’s total by finishing third with a solid performance.

Those in charge of Formula 1 will surely be pleased that there were three different cars on the podium, and that, it seems, several teams appear to be competitive this year.

Perhaps the drive of the day – yet again – came from Rubens Barrichello, who nursed his Brawn home for three laps with smoke pouring from the car’s engine. Just after bringing the car home in 7th place, the Brazilian’s car burst into flames.

Here is the final classification for the Belgian Grand Prix, which took place today, Sunday 30th August 2009:

  1. K Raikkonen – Ferrari
  2. G Fisichella – Force India Mercedes
  3. S Vettel – RBR-Renault
  4. R Kubica – BMW Sauber
  5. N Heidfeld – BMW Sauber
  6. H Kovalainen – McLaren Mercedes
  7. R Barrichello – Brawn Mercedes
  8. N Rosberg – Williams Toyota
  9. M Webber – RBR Renault
  10. T Glock – Toyota
  11. A sutil – Force India Mercedes
  12. S Buemi – STR-Ferrari
  13. K Nakajima – Williams Toyota
  14. L Badoer – Ferrari


  • F Alonso – Fenault
  • J Trulli – Toyota
  • J Button – Brawn Mercedes
  • R Grosjean – Renault
  • L Hamilton – McLaren Mercedes
  • J Alguersuari – STR Ferrari

Drivers Championship After Belgium:

  1. Jenson Button – 72
  2. Rubens Barrichello – 56
  3. Sebastian Vettel – 53
  4. Mark Webber – 51.5
  5. Kimi Raikkonen – 34
  6. Nico Rosberg – 30.5
  7. Lewis Hamilton – 27
  8. Jarno Trulli – 22.5
  9. Felipe Massa – 22
  10. Heikki Kovalainen – 17
  11. Timo Glock – 16
  12. Fernando Alonso – 16
  13. Nick Heidfeld – 10
  14. Giancarlo Fisichella – 8
  15. Robert Kubica – 8
  16. Sebastien Buemi – 3
  17. Sebastien Bourdais – 2

The Formula 1 World Championship is now wide open after the early leaders appear to be struggling, and those who were struggling early seem to have produced better cars.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Beijing’s 2008 Legacy Lives On in New Generation of Boxers and Shuttle | Flame Catchers

Over eight years on, we check out China boxing’s cradle, inspired by Beijing 2008, and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *