Home » Sport » Motorsport » Formula 1 » Formula 1: Mark Webber Wins Monaco Grand Prix 2010

Formula 1: Mark Webber Wins Monaco Grand Prix 2010

Mark Webber headed a Red Bull 1-2 in this afternoon’s Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix 2010 with a fine drive, outperforming all others, from Pole Position.

Webber resoundingly beat his Red Bull teammate Sebastian Vettel, who jumped Renault man Robert Kubica at the start, and held his position throughout the race, to claim second.

The final lap finished in dramatic style as Michael Schumacher took advantage of a new rule allowing drivers to race from the Safety Car going in before the start/finish line to get a jump on Fernando Alonso to snatch 6th place. Ferrari and Mercedes are still awaiting a stewards decision on whether the move was legal.

Champion Jenson Button failed to finish the race after a mixup at the start led to a cover being left on one of his McLaren’s radiators. Behind the safety car which came following a lap one incident – the first of four Safety Car appearances in this eventful street race – Button’s car overheated, and he was forced to park. Button falls to fourth from first in the Driver’s Championship 2010 as a result.

The Safety Car at the start played right into Fernando Alonso’s hands, however, as the former World Champion, starting from the pit lane, was able to make his compulsory tyre stop immediately, and re-catch the snake of cars who would all then have to stop later.

As a result of several daring passes – most notably, overtaking Lucas di Grassi, who was skating the rear of his car dangerously trying to race the much quicker Ferrari in his mirrors, into the chicane – and the time gained during the pit stops, Alonso managed to leap-frog his way into sixth before Schumacher showed all his guile to catch him on the hop on the penultimate corner after the Saftey Car departed.

Webber showed once again today that he, and his Red Bull Racing car, are a good second per lap ahead of the chasing pack. With his confidence high, and his calm, level head – now combined with blistering race-pace and sensible tyre management – Webber is now looking more and more like a World Champ in the making.

Renault, and, specifically, Robert Kubica are making real gains, and the French manufacturer must be ecstatic to make up all three of the podium places at Monaco – for they supply the Red Bull engine too – something which Kubica, in a sensible piece of politics, managed to point out in the post-race press conference.

However, Red Bull look like the complete package: their men are tied neck-and-neck at the head of the Championship, and they just pulled out a good margin in the Constructors too. For the rest, their work is cut out: they need to find a second, and fast.

Today’s Monaco Grand Prix was not a classic – the returning Safety Car and general high quality of driving meant that there were few real moments of shock and awe – but Australia’s Mark Webber was magnificent in victory, his second in a week, once more this afternoon.

Monaco Grand Prix 2010 Preliminary Result

Below is the preliminary result for the 2010 Monaco Grand Prix – note that there is an ongoing enquiry into Michael Schumacher’s last lap overtake of Alonso.

PosCtryDriverCarTeamGridFast lapRace TmPts
1AusMark Webber6Red Bull-Renault11:15.3181:50:13.35525
2GerSebastian Vettel5Red Bull-Renault31:15.192+00:00.44818
3PolRobert Kubica11Renault21:15.352+00:01.67515
4BraFelipe Massa7Ferrari41:15.503+00:02.66612
5GBRLewis Hamilton2McLaren-Mercedes51:16.219+00:04.36310
6GerMichael Schumacher3Mercedes GP71:15.580+00:05.7128
7EspFernando Alonso8Ferrari241:15.905+00:06.3416
8GerNico Rosberg4Mercedes GP61:15.959+00:06.6514
9GerAdrian Sutil14Force India-Mercedes121:15.963+00:06.9702
10ItaVitantonio Liuzzi15Force India-Mercedes101:16.142+00:07.3051
11SuiSebastien Buemi16Toro Rosso-Ferrari131:16.493+00:08.199
12EspJaime Alguersuari17Toro Rosso-Ferrari171:16.381+00:09.135
13RusVitaly Petrov12Renault141:16.405retired, 73 laps
14IndKarun Chandhok20Hispania-Cosworth231:19.553crash, 70 laps
15ItaJarno Trulli18Lotus-Cosworth191:19.340crash, 70 laps
16FinHeikki Kovalainen19Lotus-Cosworth181:18.401retired, 58 laps
17BraBruno Senna21Hispania-Cosworth221:20.130retired, 58 laps
18BraRubens Barrichello9Williams-Cosworth91:19.074crash, 30 laps
19JapKamui Kobayashi23BMW Sauber-Ferrari161:18.775retired, 26 laps
20BraLucas di Grassi25Virgin-Cosworth211:22.255retired, 25 laps
21GerTimo Glock24Virgin-Cosworth201:20.775retired, 22 laps
22EspPedro de la Rosa22BMW Sauber-Ferrari151:19.270retired, 21 laps
23GBRJenson Button1McLaren-Mercedes82:14.285retired, 2 laps
24GerNico Hulkenberg10Williams-Cosworth11crash, 1 laps

Formula 1 2010 Drivers Championship Standings after Monaco

1Mark WebberAusRed Bull-Renault78
2Sebastian VettelGerRed Bull-Renault78
3Fernando AlonsoSpaFerrari73
4Jenson ButtonGBMcLaren-Mercedes70
5Felipe MassaBrzFerrari61
6Robert KubicaPolRenault59
7Lewis HamiltonGBMcLaren-Mercedes59
8Nico RosbergGerMercedes GP54
9Michael SchumacherGerMercedes GP30
10Adrian SutilGerForce India-Mercedes18
11Vitantonio LiuzziItaForce India-Mercedes9
12Rubens BarrichelloBrzWilliams-Cosworth7
13Vitaly PetrovRusRenault6
14Jaime AlguersuariSpaToro Rosso-Ferrari3
15Nico HulkenbergGerWilliams-Cosworth1
16Sebastien BuemiSwiToro Rosso-Ferrari0
17Pedro de la RosaSpaBMW Sauber-Ferrari0
18Kamui KobayashiJpnBMW Sauber-Ferrari0
19Heikki KovalainenFinLotus-Cosworth0
20Karun ChandhokIndHispania-Cosworth0
21Lucas di GrassiBrzVirgin-Cosworth0
22Bruno SennaBrzHispania-Cosworth0
23Jarno TrulliItaLotus-Cosworth0
24Timo GlockGerVirgin-Cosworth0

Formula 1 2010 Constructors’ Championship Standings after Monaco GP

1Red Bull-Renault156
4Mercedes GP84
6Force India-Mercedes27
8Toro Rosso-Ferrari3
9BMW Sauber-Ferrari0

About Robin Scott

Robin Scott
Robin Scott is co-founder and publisher of The Global Herald.

Check Also

Speed Finals | Ice Climbing World Championship

Live from Champagny-en-Vanoise for the 2017 UIAA Ice Climbing World Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *