Home » Sport » Football » UEFA Europa League » Football: UEFA Europa League 2011/12 Play-Off Draw

Football: UEFA Europa League 2011/12 Play-Off Draw

The draw to see which teams will play-off for a place in the group stages of the 2011/12 UEFA Europa League took place in Nyon on the afternoon of Friday 5th August 2011, and produced some interesting ties.

An all British affair will see Tottenham Hotspur take on Hearts of the SPL over two legs to see which of those sides will participate in the group phase of the competition, while several sides who have won the tournament in recent years also face the prospect of a nail biting two-legged play-off, including 2010 winners Atletico Madrid, who face Vitorio SC and 2006 and 2007 victors, Sevilla, who face Hannover.

The winners of the 38 play-offs will join the 10 defeated sides from the Champions League Playoffs to go into the hat for the UEFA Europa League 2011/12 group stages, which will consist of 12 groups of 4 teams.

UEFA Europa League 2011/12 Play-Off Matches

  1. Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) – Panathinaikos FC (GRE)
  2. Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP) – Vitória SC (POR)
  3. Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL) – FK Partizan (SRB)
  4. FC Metalist Kharkiv (UKR) – FC Sochaux-Montbéliard (FRA)
  5. Beşiktaş JK (TUR) – FC Alania Vladikavkaz (RUS)
  6. Rosenborg BK (NOR) – AEK Larnaca FC (CYP)
  7. FC Vorskla Poltava (UKR) – FC Dinamo Bucureşti (ROU)
  8. Bursaspor (TUR) – RSC Anderlecht (BEL)
  9. AS Roma (ITA) – ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)
  10. *Olympiacos Volou FC (GRE) – Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)
  11. Legia Warszawa (POL) – FC Spartak Moskva (RUS)
  12. FK Ekranas (LTU) – Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
  13. PAOK FC (GRE) – FC Karpaty Lviv (UKR)
  14. Trabzonspor AŞ (TUR) – Athletic Club (ESP)
  15. Heart of Midlothian FC (SCO) – Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG)
  16. NK Maribor (SVN) – Rangers FC (SCO)
  17. FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU) – PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)
  18. FC Nordsjælland (DEN) – Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
  19. FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR) – Fulham FC (ENG)
  20. FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) – FC Spartak Trnava (SVK)
  21. FC Sion (SUI) – Celtic FC (SCO)
  22. WKS Śląsk Wrocław (POL) – FC Rapid Bucureşti (ROU)
  23. PFC Litex Lovech (BUL) – FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)
  24. S.S. Lazio (ITA) – FK Rabotnicki (MKD)
  25. CD Nacional (POR) – Birmingham City FC (ENG)
  26. PSV Eindhoven (NED) – SV Ried (AUT)
  27. FC Thun (SUI) – Stoke City FC (ENG)
  28. Aalesunds FK (NOR) – AZ Alkmaar (NED)
  29. FC Vaslui (ROU) – AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
  30. AC Omonia (CYP) – FC Salzburg (AUT)
  31. FC Zestafoni (GEO) – Club Brugge KV (BEL)
  32. Hannover 96 (GER) – Sevilla FC (ESP)
  33. HJK Helsinki (FIN) – FC Schalke 04 (GER)
  34. FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO) – AEK Athens FC (GRE)
  35. Stade Rennais FC (FRA) – FK Crvena Zvezda (SRB)
  36. CS Gaz Metan Mediaş (ROU) – FK Austria Wien (AUT)
  37. SC Braga (POR) – BSC Young Boys (SUI)
  38. R. Standard de Liège (BEL) – Helsingborgs IF (SWE)

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

UEFA Europa League 2013/14: Group Stage Fixtures, Thursday 19 September

UEFA Europea League is back for 2013/14 with 24 Group Stage fixtures scheduled to take …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *