Home » Sport » Football » FIFA World Cup » FIFA World Cup 2010: Uruguay Name Provisional Squad

FIFA World Cup 2010: Uruguay Name Provisional Squad

Uruguay coach Oscar Washington Tabarez has named a 26 man provisional Uruguay squad for this summer’s 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

Despite being allowed a 30 man provisional listing, the coach opted to select just 26, including 4 Uruguayan-based players.

European football fans will look out for Diego Forlan who is due to play in the UEFA Europa League for Atletico Madrid this week – the striker, who has enjoyed scintilating form this season, is included in the provisional squad.

Uruguay Providional World Cup 2010 Squad

Fernando Muslera (Lazio), Juan-Guillermo Castillo (Cali), Martin Silva (Defensor Sporting); Diego Lugano (Fenerbahce), Diego Godin (Villarreal), Andres Scotti (Colo Colo), Jorge Fucile (Porto), Martin Caceres (Juventus), Mauricio Victorino (Universidad de Chile), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica); Walter Gargano (Napoli), Egidio Arevalo-Rios (Penarol), Sebastian Eguren (AIK Stockholm), Diego Perez (Monaco), Alvaro Pereira (Porto), Alvaro Fernandez (Universidad de Chile), Jorge Rodriguez (River Plate), Alvaro Gonzalez (Nacional), Ignacio Gonzalez (Valencia), Nicolas Lodeiro (Ajax); Sebastian Fernandez (Banfield), Luis Suarez (Ajax), Diego Forlan (Atletico Madrid), Sebastian Abreu (Botafogo), Edinson Cavani (Palermo), Jorge Martinez (Catania).

Uruguay have a difficult group – Group A – which includes hosts South Africa, Mexico and Argentina.

About Robin Scott

Robin Scott
Robin Scott is co-founder and publisher of The Global Herald.

Check Also

Match 2: Ecuador v Senegal – FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2017

Watch group stage highlights of the match between Ecuador and Senegal from FIFA Beach Soccer …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *