Home » Sport » Football » FIFA World Cup » FIFA World Cup 2010: Mexico Name Provisional Squad

FIFA World Cup 2010: Mexico Name Provisional Squad

Mexico have named a provision squad of just 26 players for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, four short of the allowed thirty.

Javier Aguirre, the Mexico coach, has taken something of a gamble in naming only five recognised midfield players, which will severely limit his options should any of his midfield men pick up an injury or suspension at any point during the all-important tournament, though he does have the versatile Rafael Marquez, Juan Carlos Valenzuela and Adrian Aldrete to fall back on, if required.

Mexico World Cup 2010 Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Oscar Perez (Chiapas), Guillermo Ochoa (America), Luis Ernesto Michel (Guadalajara)

Defenders: Rafael Marquez (Barcelona), Ricardo Osorio (Stuttgart), Francisco Rodriguez, Carlos Salcido (both PSV Eindhoven), Hector Moreno (AZ Alkmaar), Paul Aguilar (Pachuca), Efrain Juarez (Pumas UNAM), Jonny Magallon (Guadalajara), Juan Carlos Valenzuela (America), Jorge Torres Nilo (Atlas), Adrian Aldrete (Morelia)

Midfielders: Andres Guardado (Deportivo La Coruna), Jonathan dos Santos (Barcelona), Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul), Israel Castro (Pumas UNAM), Giovani dos Santos (Galatasaray, on loan from Tottenham)

Forwards: Pablo Barrera (Pumas UNAM), Adolfo Bautista, Alberto Medina (both Guadalajara), Cuauhtemoc Blanco (Veracruz), Carlos Vela (Arsenal), Javier Hernandez (Manchester United), Guillermo Franco (West Ham).

Mexico play in Group A, alongside South Africa, France and Uraguay.

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Olympian Yuliya Yelistratova tests YouTuber Susana Yabar’s Triathlon Fitness | Hitting the Wall

Fitness YouTuber Susana Yabar attempts to conquer her first Olympic-distance Triathlon with Ukranian Yuliya Yelisatratova …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *