Home » Sport » Football » FIFA World Cup » FIFA World Cup 2010: England 23 Man Squad (Revised)

FIFA World Cup 2010: England 23 Man Squad (Revised)

England have today announced that their captain Rio Ferdinand is out for 4-6 weeks with a knee injury he picked up on the first day training in South Africa ahead of the 2010 FIFA World Cup, therefore there is an amendment to the earlier 23 man squad which was announced previously.

Ferdinand is replaced in the squad by Michael Dawson of Tottenham Hotspur and as captain by Steven Gerrard of Liverpool FC.

England line up in Group C along with the USA, Algeria and Slovenia.

England Revised 23 Man Squad – FIFA World Cup 2010

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), David James (Portsmouth), Robert Green (West Ham).

Defenders: Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United) Michael Dawson (Tottenham Hotspur) Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Ledley King (Tottenham), John Terry (Chelsea), Matthew Upson (West Ham), Stephen Warnock (Aston Villa).

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Manchester City), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Aaron Lennon (Tottenham), James Milner (Aston Villa), Shaun Wright-Phillips (Manchester City).

Forwards: Peter Crouch (Tottenham), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham), Emile Heskey (Aston Villa), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United).

About Sport Desk

Stories from the Sport Desk at The Global Herald.

Check Also

Match 2: Ecuador v Senegal – FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2017

Watch group stage highlights of the match between Ecuador and Senegal from FIFA Beach Soccer …


  1. A fine and good choice,let’s hope England will win the World Cup trophy

    • no, they won’t. stop being silly. how about hoping for something realistic. like giving a good account of themselves and getting to the quarter finals (which is about par for england) everything else is a bonus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *