Home » Sport » Football » FIFA World Cup » FIFA World Cup 2010: Australia Name Provisional Squad

FIFA World Cup 2010: Australia Name Provisional Squad

Australia – the socceroos – have named 31 players in their provisional FIFA World Cup 2010 squad – including the injured Harry Kewell, of Galatasaray.

Kewell has not played for much of this season with a hamstring injury, but is viewed as something of a talisman for the team by manager Pim Verbeek, who has selected the player unfit, at least provisionally.

Defender Craig Moore is also named despite not having a club since he was released from his contract with AO Kavala on 31 March for an off-field incident.

Australia are in Group D, with Germany, Serbia and Ghana, one of the most difficult groups of World Cup 2010.

Australia Provisional Squad – FIFA World Cup 2010

Goalkeepers: Mark Schwarzer (Fulham), Adam Federici (Reading), Brad Jones (Middlesbrough), Eugene Galekovic(Adelaide United)

Defenders: Lucas Neill (Galatasaray), Craig Moore(unattached), Scott Chipperfield (Basel), David Carney (Twente Enschede), Luke Wilkshire (Dynamo Moscow), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough), Shane Lowry (Aston Villa), Mark Milligan (JEF United), Jade North (Tromso), Michael Beauchamp (Al-Jazira)

Midfielders: Tim Cahill (Everton), Mark Bresciano (Palermo) Vince Grella (Blackburn) Brett Emerton (Blackburn), Jason Culina (Gold Coast), Harry Kewell (Galatasaray), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar), Carl Valeri (Sassuolo), Mile Jedinak(Antalyaspor), Richard Garcia (Hull), Nick Carle (Crystal Palace), Tommy Oar (Utrecht), Dario Vidosic (Nuremberg), James Holland (AZ Alkmaar)

Forwards: Josh Kennedy (Nagoya), Scott McDonald(Middlesbrough), Nikita Rukavytsya (Twente Enschede)

About Robin Scott

Robin Scott
Robin Scott is co-founder and publisher of The Global Herald.

Check Also

Match 2: Ecuador v Senegal – FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2017

Watch group stage highlights of the match between Ecuador and Senegal from FIFA Beach Soccer …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *